Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
This guide was created to help you find primary sources for your second paper, which is a historical analysis of a star's performance in a single film. You will find databases which contain popular film magazines, Hollywood trade journals, newspapers, and other sources. Also included are links to individual journals and magazines in which you might search for articles to see how your chosen celebrity was treated in that source over time.
Get help from Patrick
Have questions? Need help? Ask your subject specialist, Patrick Williams.
Film & Television Industry Trade Journals
Popular Titles Covering Film & Television
Life Magazine Archives
Page image archive of Life Magazine, from November 1936 (issue 1) to December 2000.
Searchable page image archive of Time Magazine, from March 1923 through December 2000. Includes photographs and advertisements.
Page images of U.S. Vogue from 1892 to present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants from 1881 to 1998.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date;
Searchable page image archive of Esquire Magazine from 1933 to 2014. Topics covered include popular culture, entertainment, and men's fashion.
To find other publications, search the Libraries' journal holdings by title to find 1930s-1960s issues available electronically.
You can also search a limited number of magazine titles from the era in the Internet Archive's Magazine Rack. Pay special attention to the dates on the material you're using.
Popular Periodicals in Print
Other possibly-fruitful databases
Film & Television Literature Index
Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodical.
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text including complete runs.