Research Guides: ELI Fulbright English for Graduate Studies Program: Home

About this Guide

This guide is intended to serve as a starting place for participants in the Fulbright English for Graduate Studies Program at Syracuse University’s English Language Institute. It includes links to some recommended databases for research in Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Engineering. Additionally, below this box you will find links to work from previous years' cohorts in the program, housed in SURFACE, SU's institutional repository.

CItation Links and Tools

Syracuse University Libraries' citation guide
Links to citation styles and citation managers
Plagiarism and ESL Writers: An Overview
A glossary and summary of methods that may be of use to English language learners.

Former Fulbright Scholar Research Posters

Posters from previous years' Fulbright English for Graduate Studies Program can be viewed in SURFACE, the Syracuse University Digital Repository.

Research Starting Places

The resources listed here are recommended starting places for your research, organized by discipline. The Libraries subscribe to many, many more databases, which you can browse via this link: Databases A-Z Menu.

Very Large Interdisciplanary Databases (you may need to use SULinks to connect to full text)

Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.

Humanities Databases of Note

Anthropology Plus
Index to materials from the late 1800s to present in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, from the Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).
AnthroSource
Articles from journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Society.
ProQuest Arts
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in design, film, art, music, theater, and humanities.
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index and abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations covering linguistics, discourse analysis, phonetics, literary theory, semantics and more.
Linguistics Abstracts Online : LABS
Index and abstracts to scholarly articles published in linguistics journals.

Social Sciences Databases of Note

ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
Education Source
Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.
Political Science Database
Journals in political science and international relations.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research : ICPSR direct
ICPSR is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading. User must create free MyData Login while on-campus in order to download data. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.
HeinOnline
United States federal and state laws, international law, case law, treaties, papers, law and international affairs, journals and more. Access provided by Syracuse University College of Law Library.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Business Source Elite
Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
EconLit
Index published by the American Economic Association of articles, chapters, and dissertations related to all fields of economics.

Science & Engineering Databases of Note

Engineering Village
Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
ACM Digital Library
Conference proceedings, articles, books, reports, videos, and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Searches can be expanded to include non-ACM resources.
Environmental Studies and Policy
Journals on environmental issues and policies, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests. Provided by NOVELNY.
Agricultural and Environmental Science Database
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM), and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases, covering scholarly journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and more, on topics such as agriculture, farming, forestry, nutrition, veterinary sciences, and related fields.
GEOBASE
GEOBASE includes the latest information on earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, and environmental sciences.
GreenFILE
Index to publications covering the environment, sustainability, green buildings, energy, recycling and more.

For our in-class exercise

ProQuest
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.

Background & Reference Sources

AccessScience
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, including articles, definitions, biographies, images and more.
SAGE Knowledge
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
Wiley Online Library
Journals, books, reference works, protocols and more covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, business, and management; includes titles published by Jossey-Bass.
Oxford Reference Online
Reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Need Help? Ask Us!

Ask Us! Live Chat

Call Us: 315-443-4083

Text Us: 315-464-0744

Email us: libref@syr.edu

Find a librarian

Report an Electronic Resource Issue

Policy on Access to Licensed Web Resources

Suggest a Title