Research Guides: East and Southeast Asia: Home

Help Using Library Sources and Services

Askus for any help in selecting and locating library sources and services

Or, ask a Subject Librarian:

Anthropology, International Relations, Political Science, Sociology: Winn Wasson
History, Philosophy, Religion, Languages, African Diaspora: Rebecca Johnston
Geography, Maps, and Government Information: John Olson
Linguistics: Patrick Williams

Suggested Databases for East Asian Studies

ATLA Religion Database
Journal articles, reviews, and essays covering religion and theology, compiled by the American Theological Library Association.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on Asia published since 1971.
China Academic Journals by CNKI
**Access note: Due to policy changes at the government level in the People’s Republic of China, access to full-text downloads has been temporarily suspend to many content types in this database.**
Chinese academic journals covering economics, education, history, law, literature, management, military affairs, philosophy, politics, and other social sciences.
Access includes Series F,G,H, and J.
Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Index to articles about world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Covers history of specific subjects in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Modern Language Association bibliography of publications related to language, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
PAIS Index
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
Project Muse
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
Public Administration Abstracts

Index and abstracts to publications covering public administration research, theory and related areas.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
Europa World
Online Europa World Year Book providing basic facts, and political and economic information about countries and territories.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc., including access to statistical tables.

Access World News

Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Alternative Press Index
Index to alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines, from 1991 to present.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Index to alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines published between 1969-1990.
Nexis Uni

News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
ProQuest Congressional
Publications related to or from the United State Congress and the Executive branch from 1789 to the present that include laws, legislative histories, House and Senate hearings, bills and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, plus Executive Orders, Proclamations and other documents related to the presidency.
PAIS Index
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
Peace Research Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas.
PressReader
Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Southeast Asian Newspapers
Newspapers from Southeast Asia, published between 1839 and 1958, digitized as part of a Global Press Archive (GPA) CRL Charter Alliance project.