Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Faculty Fiction, Set in Central New York: Dana Spiotta
Innocents and Others by From "a major, unnervingly intelligent writer" (Joy Williams)..."rich, funny, learned, and tonally fresh" (Jeffrey Eugenides), comes a novel about aspiration, film, work, and love. Dana Spiotta's new novel is about two women, best friends, who grow up in LA in the 80s and become filmmakers. Meadow and Carrie have everything in common--except their views on sex, power, movie-making, and morality. Their lives collide with Jelly, a loner whose most intimate experience is on the phone. Jelly is older, erotic, and mysterious. She cold calls powerful men and seduces them not through sex but through listening. She invites them to reveal themselves, and they do. Spiotta is "a wonderfully gifted writer with an uncanny feel for the absurdities and sadnesses of contemporary life, and an unerring ear for how people talk and try to cope today" (The New York Times). Innocents and Others is her greatest novel--wise, artful, and beautiful.
Call Number: PS3619.P566 I56 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-08
Stone Arabia by Stone Arabia, Dana Spiotta's moving and intrepid third novel, is about family, obsession, memory, and the urge to create--in isolation, at the margins of our winner-take-all culture. In the sibling relationship, "there are no first impressions, no seductions, no getting to know each other," says Denise Kranis. For her and her brother, Nik, now in their forties, no relationship is more significant. They grew up in Los Angeles in the late seventies and early eighties. Nik was always the artist, always wrote music, always had a band. Now he makes his art in private, obsessively documenting the work, but never testing it in the world. Denise remains Nik's most passionate and acute audience, sometimes his only audience. She is also her family's first defense against the world's fragility. Friends die, their mother's memory and mind unravel, and the news of global catastrophe and individual tragedy haunts Denise. When her daughter, Ada, decides to make a film about Nik, everyone's vulnerabilities seem to escalate. Dana Spiotta has established herself as a "singularly powerful and provocative writer" (The Boston Globe) whose work is fiercely original. Stone Arabia--riveting, unnerving, and strangely beautiful--reexamines what it means to be an artist and redefines the ties that bind.
Call Number: PS3619.P566 S76 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-12
Wayward by "A virtuosic, singular and very funny portrait of a woman seeking sanity and purpose in a world gone mad." --The New York Times Book Review "Riddled with insights into aging, womanhood, and discontent, Wayward is as elegant as it is raw, and almost as funny as it is sad." --Philadelphia Inquirer "A comic, vital new novel" --The New Yorker A "furious and addictive new novel" (The New York Times) about mothers and daughters, and one woman's midlife reckoning as she flees her suburban life. On the heels of the election of 2016, Samantha Raymond's life begins to come apart: her mother is ill, her teenage daughter is increasingly remote, and at fifty-two she finds herself staring into "the Mids"--that hour of supreme wakefulness between three and four in the morning in which women of a certain age suddenly find themselves contemplating motherhood, mortality, and, in this case, the state of our unraveling nation. When she falls in love with a beautiful, decrepit house in a hardscrabble neighborhood in Syracuse, she buys it on a whim and flees her suburban life--and her family--as she grapples with how to be a wife, a mother, and a daughter, in a country that is coming apart at the seams. Dana Spiotta's Wayward is a stunning novel about aging, about the female body, and about female complexity in contemporary America. Probing and provocative, brainy and sensual, it is a testament to our weird times, to reforms and resistance and utopian wishes, and to the beauty of ruins.
Call Number: PS3619.P566 W39 2021
Publication Date: 2021-07-06
Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
Finding Dr. Livingstone by This eye-opening perspective on Stanley's expedition reveals new details about the Victorian explorer and his African crew on the brink of the colonial Scramble for Africa. In 1871, Welsh American journalist Henry M. Stanley traveled to Zanzibar in search of the "missing" Scottish explorer and missionary David Livingstone. A year later, Stanley emerged to announce that he had "found" and met with Livingstone on Lake Tanganyika. His alleged utterance there, "Dr. Livingstone, I presume," was one of the most famous phrases of the nineteenth century, and Stanley's book, How I Found Livingstone, became an international bestseller. In this fascinating volume Mathilde Leduc-Grimaldi and James L. Newman transcribe and annotate the entirety of Stanley's documentation, making available for the first time in print a broader narrative of Stanley's journey that includes never-before-seen primary source documents--worker contracts, vernacular plant names, maps, ruminations on life, lines of poetry, bills of lading--all scribbled in his field notebooks. Finding Dr. Livingstone is a crucial resource for those interested in exploration and colonization in the Victorian era, the scientific knowledge of the time, and the peoples and conditions of Tanzania prior to its colonization by Germany.
Call Number: DT351 .F56 2020
Publication Date: 2020-12-22
Econometric Analysis of Panel Data by This textbook offers a comprehensive introduction to panel data econometrics, an area that has enjoyed considerable growth over the last two decades. Micro and Macro panels are becoming increasingly available, and methods for dealing with these types of data are in high demand among practitioners. Software programs have fostered this growth, including freely available programs in R and numerous user-written programs in both Stata and EViews. Written by one of the world's leading researchers and authors in the field, Econometric Analysis of Panel Data has established itself as the leading textbook for graduate and postgraduate courses on panel data. It provides up-to-date coverage of basic panel data techniques, illustrated with real economic applications and datasets, which are available at the book's website on springer.com. This new sixth edition has been fully revised and updated, and includes new material on dynamic panels, limited dependent variables and nonstationary panels, as well as spatial panel data. The author also provides empirical illustrations and examples using Stata and EViews. "This is a definitive book written by one of the architects of modern, panel data econometrics. It provides both a practical introduction to the subject matter, as well as a thorough discussion of the underlying statistical principles without taxing the reader too greatly." Professor Kajal Lahiri, State University of New York, Albany, USA. "This book is the most comprehensive work available on panel data. It is written by one of the leading contributors to the field, and is notable for its encyclopaedic coverage and its clarity of exposition. It is useful to theorists and to people doing applied work using panel data. It is valuable as a text for a course in panel data, as a supplementary text for more general courses in econometrics, and as a reference." Professor Peter Schmidt, Michigan State University, USA. "Panel data econometrics is in its ascendancy, combining the power of cross section averaging with all the subtleties of temporal and spatial dependence. Badi Baltagi provides a remarkable roadmap of this fascinating interface of econometric method, enticing the novitiate with technical gentleness, the expert with comprehensive coverage and the practitioner with many empirical applications." Professor Peter C. B. Phillips, Cowles Foundation, Yale University, USA.
Call Number: HB139 .B35 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-16
Fears of a Setting Sun by The surprising story of how George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson came to despair for the future of the nation they had created Americans seldom deify their Founding Fathers any longer, but they do still tend to venerate the Constitution and the republican government that the founders created. Strikingly, the founders themselves were far less confident in what they had wrought, particularly by the end of their lives. In fact, most of them--including George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson--came to deem America's constitutional experiment an utter failure that was unlikely to last beyond their own generation. Fears of a Setting Sun is the first book to tell the fascinating and too-little-known story of the founders' disillusionment. As Dennis Rasmussen shows, the founders' pessimism had a variety of sources: Washington lost his faith in America's political system above all because of the rise of partisanship, Hamilton because he felt that the federal government was too weak, Adams because he believed that the people lacked civic virtue, and Jefferson because of sectional divisions laid bare by the spread of slavery. The one major founder who retained his faith in America's constitutional order to the end was James Madison, and the book also explores why he remained relatively optimistic when so many of his compatriots did not. As much as Americans today may worry about their country's future, Rasmussen reveals, the founders faced even graver problems and harbored even deeper misgivings. A vividly written account of a chapter of American history that has received too little attention, Fears of a Setting Sun will change the way that you look at the American founding, the Constitution, and indeed the United States itself.
Call Number: E302.1 .R37 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-02
Secession and the Sovereignty Game by Secession and the Sovereignty Game offers a comprehensive strategic theory for how secessionist movements attempt to win independence. Combining original data analysis, fieldwork, interviews with secessionist leaders, and case studies on Catalonia, the Murrawarri Republic, West Papua, Bougainville, New Caledonia, and Northern Cyprus, Ryan D. Griffiths shows how the rules and informal practices of sovereign recognition create a strategic playing field between existing states and aspiring nations that he terms "the sovereignty game." To win sovereign statehood, all secessionist movements have to maneuver on the same strategic playing field while varying their tactics according to local conditions. To obtain recognition, secessionist movements use tactics of electoral capture, nonviolent civil resistance, and violence. To persuade the home state and the international community, they appeal to normative arguments regarding earned sovereignty, decolonization, the right to choose, inherent sovereignty, and human rights. The pursuit of independence can be enormously disruptive and is quite often violent. By advancing a theory that explains how sovereign recognition has succeeded in the past and is working in the present, and by anticipating the practices of future secessionist movements, Secession and the Sovereignty Game also prescribes solutions that could make the sovereignty game less conflictual.
Call Number: JC327 .G744 2021
Publication Date: 2021-05-15
The Sustainability of Health Care Systems in Europe by This volume contains an Open Access Chapter The Sustainability of Health Care Systems in Europeprovides a comprehensive understanding of the sustainability of health systems in Europe. Furthermore, it includes an introduction to how EU action in supporting health- care policies in the EU Member States, looking both at implemented actions and describing current priorities for the future. There has been a rapid evolution of the structure of society and the economy over the last few decades which has created new demands for healthcare services. This has placed pressure on policy makers to ensure the sustainability of the health care sector. Policy makers understand the efficiency of the healthcare delivery system needs to be improved, the shortage of health professionals must be tackled, and that there are growing health inequalities and inequity in access to healthcare. These challenges are exacerbated by recent economic shocks including the 2008 recession, the uncertainty related to Brexit, and the crisis induced by the COVID-19 pandemic, which have impacted the ability of European health systems to finance the health care sector. This book is a must read for researchers and students of health economics and health policy.
Call Number: RA410.55.E85 S87 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-22
School of Architecture
Hip-Hop Architecture by "This book is not for you. It is not for architectural academic elites. It is not for those who have gentrified our neighborhoods, overly intellectualized the profession, and ignored all contemporary Black theory within the discipline. You have made architecture a symbol of exclusion, oppression, and domination rather than expression, aspiration, and inspiration. This book is not for conformists--Black, White, or other." As architecture grapples with its own racist legacy, Hip-Hop Architecture outlines a powerful new manifesto--the voice of the underrepresented, marginalized, and voiceless within the discipline. Exploring the production of spaces, buildings, and urban environments that embody the creative energies in hip-hop, it is a newly expanding design philosophy which sees architecture as a distinct part of hip-hop's cultural expression, and which uses hip-hop as a lens through which to provoke new architectural ideas.Examining the present and the future of Hip-Hop Architecture, the book also explores its historical antecedents and its theory, placing it in a wider context both within architecture and within Black and African American movements. Throughout, the work is illustrated with inspirational case studies of architectural projects and creative practices, and interspersed with interludes and interviews with key architects, designers, and academics in the field. This is a vital and provocative work that will appeal to architects, designers, students, theorists, and anyone interested in a fresh view of architecture, design, race and culture.Includes Foreword by Michael Eric Dyson.
Call Number: NA2500 .C665 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-22
Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics
Social Security Works for Everyone! by Social Security expansion is back on the agenda, at a time when Americans need it more than ever--here's what it should look like (and why it matters to everyday people all over the country) "Altman and Kingson cut through the fog of calculated confusion and outright lies about Social Security."--David Cay Johnston, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author The COVID-19 crisis has pulled the curtain back on America's looming retirement income crisis, a fraying of the national community, and ever-worsening income inequality. Never before have so many people's livelihoods and futures been thrown into flux. Now more than ever, expanding Social Security is essential to addressing these challenges. Social Security Works for Everyone!, an evolution of the argument Nancy J. Altman and Eric R. Kingson made in their acclaimed first book, Social Security Works!, presents the case for expanding Social Security, explaining why monthly benefits need to be increased; why Americans need national paid family leave, sick leave, and long term care protections; and how we can pay for it all. Don't believe the nearly four-decade, billionaire-funded campaign to convince us that the program is destined to collapse. It isn't. At a time when growing numbers of Americans are seeing beyond the false choice between financial security for working people and financial security for the federal government, this book eloquently makes the case that universal programs that benefit all Americans (yes, even the rich) make our country stronger and our lives more secure. Social Security works because it embodies the best of American values--the ones that will allow Americans to obtain financial security and weather the next crisis.
Call Number: HD7125 .A4467 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Sport Marketing by Sport marketing is more accessible than ever, with sport business professionals, companies, the media, athletes, teams, coaches, and fans connecting in new ways and with new experiences. Sport Marketing, Fifth Edition With HKPropel Access, presents a modernized, current-day approach to the dynamic industry of sport marketing. A full-color presentation brings this vibrant field to life with comprehensive coverage--balanced between theoretical and practical--to provide an understanding of the foundations of sport marketing and how to enhance the sport experience. Building on the legacy that Bernard Mullin, Stephen Hardy, and William Sutton established in the first four editions, a new author team, handpicked by their predecessors, draw from their modern experience in the field to add a fresh perspective to this essential text. They bring the sport industry directly to the reader through extensive industry examples, interviews of top sports executives, challenging case studies, and global perspectives from teams, leagues, and other agencies around the world. Reflecting the evolving landscape of sport marketing, the text will prepare students to stay on the leading edge with the following updates: A focus on current and emerging technologies and how they have revolutionized the sport industry--ranging from mobile video streaming and fantasy sports to artificial intelligence and virtual reality Greater emphasis on data and analytics to make more informed business decisions In-depth examination of how social media and digital platforms serve as critical communication channels to drive sport marketing strategy and execution New content on target marketing, including understanding millennial sports fans and engaging with Generation Z Updated coverage of sales processes, addressing both traditional methods and new strategies for the mobile age Discussion of modern ticketing practices and the secondary ticket market, including how leagues partner with secondary ticket providers and the impact on pricing strategies Also new to the fifth edition are related online learning aids, now delivered through HKPropel, designed to engage students and test comprehension of the material. Exclusive video interviews with sport industry leaders offer insights into how they incorporate marketing strategies into their daily work. Discussion questions and activities for each chapter guide students to apply core concepts, and web search activities provide opportunities for students to compare strategies found on sport organization websites and other online locations. In addition, chapter objectives, an opening scenario, sidebars highlighting key concepts, and Wrap-Up, Activities, and Your Marketing Plan sections at the ends of chapters offer students additional learning tools as they explore how fans, players, coaches, the media, and companies interact to drive the sport industry. With Sport Marketing, Fifth Edition With HKPropel Access, students will develop valuable marketing skills and prepare for a successful career in the competitive world of sport marketing. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.
Call Number: GV716 .M85 2022
Publication Date: 2021-03-12
Whitman School of Management
Pricing of Products & Services by The price of a product or a service is a critical element of the marketing mix. If priced too low, product sales may go up, but the product margin suffers; priced too high, customers look for other alternatives and sales may decline. Despite the critical role price plays in influencing corporate revenue and profit growths, formal training of the pricing function is often missing from business school curriculum. This book provides business students as well as managers necessary tools to make profitable pricing decisions under a variety of real-life contexts -- current and emerging. It offers a balance of theory, applications, and analytics to achieve the goal of arriving at appropriate pricing decisions in a competitive and changing business environment. The book begins with a framework for pricing decision and utilizes short cases and numerical illustrations to demonstrate how customer valuation, cost, and competition are triangulated to arrive at a feasible price range for a new or an existing product. Theories from economics and psychology provide conceptual foundations for price customization and segmentation, framing price offers to customers, price bundling, and other prevalent pricing practices.The book then focuses on specific areas of application that managers frequently encounter. These areas include: (a) pricing of a new product or a service, (b) pricing of a product line, (c) pricing through marketing channels, (d) price promotions and their effects, (e) price structure (e.g., non-linear prices such as quantity discounts, peak load or surge pricing), (f) pricing contracts and customer lifetime value, (g) pricing contingent or inter-dependent products.With respect to pedagogy, the book places a strong emphasis on utilization of data and analytics to arrive at sound pricing decisions, although intuitions and judgments remain a prerequisite. The use of number-driven decisions is especially evident in areas such as (a) valuations of the products and product attributes, (b) developing demand functions from surveys and point-of sales data, (c) assessing the effects of trade promotions through the channel, (d) customer lifetime value and price structuring decisions, and (e) price-attribute trade-offs using conjoint analysis.Finally, the book provides overviews on emerging pricing practices on the Internet. Topics include: reverse auctions or Name Your Own Price (NYOP); pricing opaque products, C to C pricing (e.g., eBay), price tracking tools/apps. The book also highlights the interdependencies between price and other marketing mix variables as well as with other functional areas within an organization.
Call Number: HF5416.5 .M398 2021
Publication Date: 2020-10-14
Employment and Labor Law by Gain a thorough understanding of today's employment and labor-relations laws with a text written specifically for you, if you are majoring in business or other non-legal studies -- Cihon/Castagnera's EMPLOYMENT AND LABOR LAW, 10E. This comprehensive, engaging introduction uses excerpts from real case law to illustrate how labor-related disputes arise and are resolved in the courts. Eye-opening features, such as The Working Law and Ethical Dilemmas, demonstrate how labor legislation and ethical decision-making impact employees at all levels of organizations -- from hourly workers to owners.You review the most up-to-date information on significant topics, such as the NLRB and EEOC, the Fair Labor Standards Act, the president's executive orders for undocumented immigrants and LGBTQ rights, Obamacare, the Defense of Marriage Act, and other employee-benefits developments. You also study issues relevant to you, such as FLSA and NLRB rights for unpaid interns, teaching assistants, and student-athletes. No other book combines such balanced coverage with an exceptional reader-friendly approach.
Call Number: KF3319 .C54 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-14
School of Information Studies
Data Science for Business with R by Data Science for Business with R, written by Jeffrey S. Saltz and Jeffrey M. Stanton, focuses on the concepts foundational for students starting a business analytics or data science degree program. To keep the book practical and applied, the authors feature a running case using a global airline business's customer survey dataset to illustrate how to turn data in business decisions, in addition to numerous examples throughout. To aid in usability beyond the classroom, the text features full integration of freely-available R and RStudio software, one of the most popular data science tools available. Designed for students with little to no experience in related areas like computer science, the book chapters follow a logical order from introduction and installation of R and RStudio, working with data architecture, undertaking data collection, performing data analysis, and transitioning to data archiving and presentation. Each chapter follows a familiar structure, starting with learning objectives and background, following the basic steps of functions alongside simple examples, applying these functions to the case study, and ending with chapter challenge questions, sources, and a list of R functions so students know what to expect in each step of their data science course. Data Science for Business with R provides readers with a straightforward and applied guide to this new and evolving field.
Call Number: HF5548.2 .S25 2022
Publication Date: 2021-03-03
Newhouse School of Public Communications
Public Relations Campaigns by With a focus on the tools needed for working in the PR industry, Public Relations Campaigns: An Integrated Approach gives students a hands-on introduction to creating successful, integrated PR campaigns. Authors Regina M. Luttrell and Luke W. Capizzo present the ROSTIR model (research/diagnosis, objectives, strategy, tactics, implementation, and reporting/evaluation) and PESO model (paid, earned, shared/social, and owned media) to show students a framework for practitioners to plan effectively and use all of the resources available to them to create winning campaigns. The Second Edition emphasizes the importance of diversity initiatives and teaches students how to integrate a cross-cultural approach to PR strategies.
Call Number: HM1221 .L878 2022
Publication Date: 2021-01-13
Social Media and Society by This text engages students in the social media phenomenon, exploring how fundamental changes in mass media influence every level of societal communication. With the explosion of social media and big data, students must become conscious of media's positive and negative influences on their lives.
Call Number: HM851 .L88 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-12
Gen Z by Explores how Gen Z is a generation to be admired and celebrated for their superhero qualities. From the authors of The Millennial Mindset: Unraveling Fact from Fiction, comes this thought-provoking in-depth consideration of the next generation. In their book, Gen Z: The Superhero Generation, Regina Luttrell and Karen McGrath explain who this generation is, how they came to be, and the impact they will have on society. Superheroes are often defined as courageous, powerful, virtuous, and strong. Equipped with unique superpowers, these individuals stand up for what is right, battling supervillains to ensure that good prevails and all is well in the world. With a worldwide fascination surrounding superheroes, it should come as no surprise that the next generation, GenZ, display many of the characteristics found within the pages of the most popular hero-centric comic books. The Superhero Generation is making its mark and gaining recognition as the generation that is willing to once again assemble, march, speak, and defy in ways previous generations have not. In this book learn the characteristics of Gen-Zers to understand how to reach them in positive productive ways. Parents, educators, and employers will learn how to tap into the endless potential of this generation, preparing them for home, school, and workplace environments that will play to their strengths and impact the world for years to come.
Call Number: HQ799.5 .L86 2021
Publication Date: 2021-05-07
Books in the Humanities: An Annual Celebration of Syracuse University Authors and Editors
The Syracuse University Humanities Center began its annual "Books in the Humanities" tradition in 2016, recognizing humanities-rooted scholarship among our SU colleagues, campus-wide. View past years' submissions to Books in the Humanities and submit your upcoming book release news to firstname.lastname@example.org for consideration in future celebrations!
College of Art and Sciences
Crossing Bar Lines by In Crossing Bar Lines: The Politics and Practices of Black Musical Space James Gordon Williams reframes the nature and purpose of jazz improvisation to illuminate the cultural work being done by five creative musicians between 2005 and 2019. The political thought of five African American improvisers?trumpeters Terence Blanchard and Ambrose Akinmusire, drummers Billy Higgins and Terri Lyne Carrington, and pianist Andrew Hill?is documented through insightful, multilayered case studies that make explicit how these musicians articulate their positionality in broader society. Informed by Black feminist thought, these case studies unite around the theory of Black musical space that comes from the lived experiences of African Americans as they improvise through daily life. The central argument builds upon the idea of space-making and the geographic imagination in Black Geographies theory. Williams considers how these musicians interface with contemporary social movements like Black Lives Matter, build alternative institutional models that challenge gender imbalance in improvisation culture, and practice improvisation as joyful affirmation of Black value and mobility. Both Terence Blanchard and Ambrose Akinmusire innovate musical strategies to address systemic violence. Billy Higgins?s performance is discussed through the framework of breath to understand his politics of inclusive space. Terri Lyne Carrington confronts patriarchy in jazz culture through her Social Science music project. The work of Andrew Hill is examined through the context of his street theory, revealing his political stance on performance and pedagogy. All readers will be elevated by this innovative and timely book that speaks to issues that continue to shape the lives of African Americans today.
Call Number: ML3508 .W545 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Photosynthesis, Respiration, and Climate Change by Changes in atmospheric carbon dioxide concentrations and global climate conditions have altered photosynthesis and plant respiration across both geologic and contemporary time scales. Understanding climate change effects on plant carbon dynamics is critical for predicting plant responses to future growing conditions. Furthermore, demand for biofuel, fibre and food production is rapidly increasing with the ever-expanding global human population, and our ability to meet these demands is exacerbated by climate change. This volume integrates physiological, ecological, and evolutionary perspectives on photosynthesis and respiration responses to climate change. We explore this topic in the context of modeling plant responses to climate, including physiological mechanisms that constrain carbon assimilation and the potential for plants to acclimate to rising carbon dioxide concentration, warming temperatures and drought. Additional chapters contrast climate change responses in natural and agricultural ecosystems, where differences in climate sensitivity between different photosynthetic pathways can influence community and ecosystem processes. Evolutionary studies over past and current time scales provide further insight into evolutionary changes in photosynthetic traits, the emergence of novel plant strategies, and the potential for rapid evolutionary responses to future climate conditions. Finally, we discuss novel approaches to engineering photosynthesis and photorespiration to improve plant productivity for the future. The overall goals for this volume are to highlight recent advances in photosynthesis and respiration research, and to identify key challenges to understanding and scaling plant physiological responses to climate change. The integrated perspectives and broad scope of research make this volume an excellent resource for both students and researchers in many areas of plant science, including plant physiology, ecology, evolution, climate change, and biotechnology. For this volume, 37 experts contributed chapters that span modeling, empirical, and applied research on photosynthesis and respiration responses to climate change. Authors represent the following seven countries: Australia (6); Canada (9), England (5), Germany (2), Spain (3), and the United States (12).
Call Number: QK754.5 .P46 2021
Publication Date: 2021-06-01
Wayward by A Best Book of the Summer: USA Today, Town & Country, The Philadelphia Inquirer, BuzzFeed, Real Simple, The Millions, and more. "A virtuosic, singular and very funny portrait of a woman seeking sanity and purpose in a world gone mad." --The New York Times Book Review "Riddled with insights into aging, womanhood, and discontent, Wayward is as elegant as it is raw, and almost as funny as it is sad." --Philadelphia Inquirer "A comic, vital new novel" --The New Yorker A "furious and addictive new novel" (The New York Times) about mothers and daughters, and one woman's midlife reckoning as she flees her suburban life. On the heels of the election of 2016, Samantha Raymond's life begins to come apart: her mother is ill, her teenage daughter is increasingly remote, and at fifty-two she finds herself staring into "the Mids"--that hour of supreme wakefulness between three and four in the morning in which women of a certain age suddenly find themselves contemplating motherhood, mortality, and, in this case, the state of our unraveling nation. When she falls in love with a beautiful, decrepit house in a hardscrabble neighborhood in Syracuse, she buys it on a whim and flees her suburban life--and her family--as she grapples with how to be a wife, a mother, and a daughter, in a country that is coming apart at the seams. Dana Spiotta's Wayward is a stunning novel about aging, about the female body, and about female complexity in contemporary America. Probing and provocative, brainy and sensual, it is a testament to our weird times, to reforms and resistance and utopian wishes, and to the beauty of ruins.
Call Number: PS3619.P566 W39 2021
Publication Date: 2021-07-06
The Best Writing on Mathematics 2020 by The year's finest mathematical writing from around the world This annual anthology brings together the year's finest mathematics writing from around the world. Featuring promising new voices alongside some of the foremost names in the field, The Best Writing on Mathematics 2020 makes available to a wide audience many articles not easily found anywhere else--and you don't need to be a mathematician to enjoy them. These writings offer surprising insights into the nature, meaning, and practice of mathematics today. They delve into the history, philosophy, teaching, and everyday aspects of math, and take readers behind the scenes of today's hottest mathematical debates. Here, Steven Strogatz reveals how calculus drives advances in virology, Paul Thagard argues that the power of mathematics stems from its combination of realistic and fictional qualities, and Erica Klarreich describes how Hao Huang used the combinatorics of cube nodes to solve a longstanding problem in computer science. In other essays, John Baez tells how he discovered the irresistible attractions of algebraic geometry, Mark Colyvan compares the radically different explanatory practices of mathematics and science, and Boris Odehnal reviews some surprising properties of multidimensional geometries. And there's much, much more. In addition to presenting the year's most memorable writings on mathematics, this must-have anthology includes a bibliography of other notable writings and an introduction by the editor. This book belongs on the shelf of anyone interested in where math has taken us--and where it is headed.
Call Number: QA8.6 .B337 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-24
Towards a Geopolitical Image of Thought by Drawing from his previous writings on the search for a new image of thought and the vitalist role of 'conceptual personae' in the history of philosophy, Gregg Lambert proposes a new geo-political image of thought that is uniquely commensurate with the globalisation of contemporary continental philosophy. Inspired by Deleuze and Guattari's concept of geo-philosophy and Jean-Francois Lyotard's archipelago of contemporary political reason, Lambert radically reorients the future direction of continental philosophy, no longer defined traditionally according to national and linguistic traditions and by the opposition with Anglo-American academic philosophy.
Call Number: JC319 .L2475 2021
Publication Date: 2021-02-23
A Swim in a Pond in the Rain by NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the Booker Prize-winning author of Lincoln in the Bardo and Tenth of December comes a literary master class on what makes great stories work and what they can tell us about ourselves--and our world today. "One of the most accurate and beautiful depictions of what it is like to be inside the mind of a writer that I've ever read."--Parul Sehgal, The New York Times For the last twenty years, George Saunders has been teaching a class on the Russian short story to his MFA students at Syracuse University. In A Swim in a Pond in the Rain, he shares a version of that class with us, offering some of what he and his students have discovered together over the years. Paired with iconic short stories by Chekhov, Turgenev, Tolstoy, and Gogol, the seven essays in this book are intended for anyone interested in how fiction works and why it's more relevant than ever in these turbulent times. In his introduction, Saunders writes, "We're going to enter seven fastidiously constructed scale models of the world, made for a specific purpose that our time maybe doesn't fully endorse but that these writers accepted implicitly as the aim of art--namely, to ask the big questions, questions like, How are we supposed to be living down here? What were we put here to accomplish? What should we value? What is truth, anyway, and how might we recognize it?" He approaches the stories technically yet accessibly, and through them explains how narrative functions; why we stay immersed in a story and why we resist it; and the bedrock virtues a writer must foster. The process of writing, Saunders reminds us, is a technical craft, but also a way of training oneself to see the world with new openness and curiosity. A Swim in a Pond in the Rain is a deep exploration not just of how great writing works but of how the mind itself works while reading, and of how the reading and writing of stories make genuine connection possible.
Call Number: PG3097 .S28 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-12
Gender Violence and the Transnational Politics of the Honor Crime by In Gender Violence and the Transnational Politics of the Honor Crime, Dana M. Olwan examines how certain forms of violence become known, recognized, and contested across multiple geopolitical contexts--looking specifically at a particular form of gender-based violence known as the "honor crime" and tracing how a range of legal, political, and literary texts inform normative and critical understandings of this term. Although a number of studies now acknowledge the complicated mobilizations of honor crime discourses, the ways in which these discourses move across and in between different geographies and contexts remain relatively unexplored. This book fills that void by providing a transnational feminist examination of the disparate--yet interconnected--sites of the US, Canada, Jordan, and Palestine, showing how the concept travels across nations and is deployed to promote hegemonic agendas--becoming intertwined in notions of modernity, citizenship, and belonging. More specifically, Olwan traces the term's appearance in public and popular works that allow for its continued mass acceptance and circulation--from media depictions in Canada and beyond, to how it is taken up in national registers about migration and belonging in the US, to activism in Palestine that reveal the fault lines between activist and academic critiques of the honor crime, and finally to feminist efforts in Jordan and the wider Middle East to confront legal codes used to sanction gender-related violence. Through these cases, Olwan demonstrates how the honor crime functions as a signifier that governs and manages populations and how its meanings travel and circulate across and between separate and interconnected circuits of power and knowledge.
Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 O46 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-29
School of Education
How Teaching Shapes Our Thinking about Disabilities by This book purposefully connects practice to research, and vice versa, through the use of deeply personal stories in the form of autoethnographic memoirs. In this collection, twenty contributors share selected tales of teaching students with dis/abilities in K-12 settings across the USA, including tentative triumphs, frustrating failures, and a deep desire to understand the dynamics of teaching and learning. The authors also share an early awareness of significant dissonance between academic knowledge taught to them in teacher education programs and their own experiential knowledge in schools. Coming to question established practices within the field of special education in relation to the children they taught, each author grew increasingly critical of deficit-models of disability that emphasized commonplace practices of physical and social exclusion, dysfunction and disorders, repetitive remediation and punitive punishments. The authors describe how their interactions with children and youth, parents, and administrators, in the context of their classrooms and schools, influenced a shift away from the limiting discourse of special education and toward become critical special educators and/or engage with disability studies as a way to reclaim, reframe, and reimagine disability as a natural part of human diversity. Furthermore, the authors document how these early experiences in the everydayness of schooling helped ground them as teachers and later, teacher educators, who galvanized their research trajectories around studying issues of access and equality throughout educational structures and systems, while developing new theoretical models within Disability Studies in Education, aimed to impact practices and policies.
Call Number: LC3981 .H65 2021
Publication Date: 2021-04-26
Old Horse, What Is to Be Done? by Poetry. "Who in the world of poetry is like Stephen Kuusisto? I want to give you lines like 'pale geographies of the heart,' or 'I love the Jesus who lets me stay blind,' unforgettable words, but no one moment conveys the beauty and austere brilliance of these poems. These are so finely wrought they feel like precious coins in the hand, coins that have been unearthed as much as made. Horses, ravens, dogs haunt these poems, but so do Einstein, Kierkegaard, God. And many others, but above all, we follow Kuusisto, guide who is 'half soul, half body.' These poems announce themselves as perfectly right and necessary, yet like nothing you've seen before."--Susanne Paola Antonetta
Call Number: PS3561.U85 O42 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-23
College of Law
The Centaur's Dilemma by Assessing the legal and practical questions posed by the use of artificial intelligence in national security matters The increasing use of artificial intelligence poses challenges and opportunities for nearly all aspects of society, including the military and other elements of the national security establishment. This book addresses how national security law can and should be applied to artificial intelligence, which enables a wide range of decisions and actions not contemplated by current law. James Baker, an expert in national security law and process, adopts a realistic approach in assessing how the law--even when not directly addressing artificial intelligence--can be used, or even misused, to regulate this new technology. His new book covers, among other topics, national security process, constitutional law, the law of armed conflict, arms control, and academic and corporate ethics. With his own background as a judge, he examines potential points of contention and litigation in an area where the law is still evolving and might not yet provide clear and certain answers. The Centaur's Dilemma also analyzes potential risks associated with the use of artificial intelligence in the realm of national security--including the challenges of machine-human interface, operating (or not operating) the national-security decision-making process at machine speed, and the perils of a technology arms race. Written in plain English, The Centaur's Dilemma will help guide policymakers, lawyers, and technology experts as they deal with the many legal questions that will arise when using artificial intelligence to plan and carry out the actions required for the nation's defense.
Call Number: KF7209 .B35 2021
Publication Date: 2020-12-01
Emanuel Law Outlines for Real Estate by Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam: ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!
Publication Date: 2020-11-12
Advanced Introduction to Law and Entrepreneurship by Elgar Advanced Introductions are stimulating and thoughtful introductions to major fields in the social sciences, business and law, expertly written by the world's leading scholars. Designed to be accessible yet rigorous, they offer concise and lucid surveys of the substantive and policy issues associated with discrete subject areas. This important Advanced Introduction considers the multiple ways in which law and entrepreneurship intertwine. Shubha Ghosh expertly explores key areas defining the field, including lawyering, innovation policy, intellectual property and economics and finance, to enhance both legal and pedagogical concepts. Key features include: a survey of critical scholarly articles in the field of law and entrepreneurship analysis of challenges to legal professions in the new technological environment traces the roots of law and entrepreneurship to scholarly study of intellectual property. This Advanced Introduction will be a useful resource for scholars and instructors in law and business schools who teach courses on innovation and entrepreneurship. Students at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels will also appreciate the insights provided into the basic concepts, methods and future research directions.
Call Number: K1315 .G48 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-26
The Specter of Dictatorship by Reveals how the U.S. Supreme Court's presidentialism threatens our democracy and what to do about it. Donald Trump's presidency made many Americans wonder whether our system of checks and balances would prove robust enough to withstand an onslaught from a despotic chief executive. In The Specter of Dictatorship, David Driesen analyzes the chief executive's role in the democratic decline of Hungary, Poland, and Turkey and argues that an insufficiently constrained presidency is one of the most important systemic threats to democracy. Driesen urges the U.S. to learn from the mistakes of these failing democracies. Their experiences suggest, Driesen shows, that the Court must eschew its reliance on and expansion of the "unitary executive theory" recently endorsed by the Court and apply a less deferential approach to presidential authority, invoked to protect national security and combat emergencies, than it has in recent years. Ultimately, Driesen argues that concern about loss of democracy should play a major role in the Court's jurisprudence, because loss of democracy can prove irreversible. As autocracy spreads throughout the world, maintaining our democracy has become an urgent matter.
Call Number: KF5053 .D75 2021
Publication Date: 2021-07-20