Research Guides: Design: Entrepreneurship and Career Resources

SU Innovation Ecosystem and Beyond

The LaunchPad works in a highly collaborative fashion with other programs across the Syracuse University campus. Our innovation ecosystem includes:

Center for Advanced Systems and Engineering (CASE) brings together traditional academic strengths in research and education to promote strong university-industry interaction and positive economic impact in the region, including providing an internship system for student intrapreneurs to work with key industry players.
Center for Excellence in Environmental and Energy Systems Innovation (SyracuseCoE), an education-industry collaborative to advance Research & Development and market innovations in the sectors of cleantech and the built environment.
College of Engineering and Computer Science and its Invent@SU program, a summer accelerator that helps students rapidly design and prototype inventions.
College of Law’s Innovation Law Center (ILC) works with LaunchPad students on patent landscapes, patent searches and patent strategy, as well as regulatory frameworks such as FDA guidelines; the Transactional Law Clinic provides trademark registration and company formation assistance; and New York State Science and Technology Law Center is dedicated to providing legal research, education and information to help commercialize new technologies from lab to market.
College of Professional Studies, particularly through the English Language Institute, Fulbright Scholar Program and the iConsult that provides project management and software development assistance.
College of Visual and Performing Arts through creative programming and a strong partnership with the School of Design around design thinking and product development.
D’Aniello Institute for Veterans and Military Families (IVMF) Entrepreneurship Programs focused on supporting veterans and their families as they navigate their entrepreneurial journey.
ITS Makerspace, where founders can use the nearly fabrication lab's variety of equipment including 3D printers, textile machines, laser engravers, electronics tools and more.
Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs through the Citizenship and Civic Engagement, Sustainability and the Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders programs and the Lerner Center for Public Health Promotion & Population Health Social Impact.
Office of Community Engagement connects the City of Syracuse and Central New York with the University's skills and resources for mutual benefit.
Office of Technology Transfer advances research from the laboratory to the commercial market.
School of Education and InclusiveU, an initiative of the Taishoff Center for Inclusive Higher Education, along with the VPA School of Design, on the Intelligence ++ Program which is offered jointly with the LaunchPad. The program is the first inclusive design and entrepreneurship collegiate program in the country.
School of Information Studies through data science programs, IT Innovation, Design and Startup, the Raymond von Dran Student Incubator and NEXIS. The LaunchPad also provides all programming for the Raymond vonDran iPrize.
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications Center for Digital Media Entrepreneurship and the Startup Garage incubator and co-working space, New Media Management program and Bandier Music Industry program.
The SOURCE, the Syracuse Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative Engagement, a cross-campus resource to assist students at all levels learn how to get involved in faculty-led research activity and develop research skills.
Whitman School of Management, its Entrepreneurship and Emerging Enterprises department and the Couri Hatchery Student Business Incubator. The LaunchPad provides programming for the Orange Tank and Panasci Business Pitch competitions.
WISE Women’s Business Center, a women's business center dedicated to empowering CNY's women entrepreneurs in all stages of business, funded in part by the US Small Business Administration and hosted by the Whitman School of Management at Syracuse University.

The LaunchPad's extended ecosystem includes:

Network of 60+ colleges and universities that are part of the Blackstone Charitable Foundation’s LaunchPad network, expanding our reach to help students find team members and subject matter experts.
CNY Biotechnology Accelerator investing in startup companies to drive research and technology innovation.
Inspyre Innovation Hub, formerly Tech Garden, which includes GeniusNY accelerator.
LaunchNY, the nonprofit venture development organization in Upstate NY.
Manufacturers Association of Central New York for founders launching products.
Techstars, the global accelerator program that helps entrepreneurs succeed through mentorship and access to capital.
TDO, connecting student entrepreneurs with supply chain partners in the region.
U.S. Small Business Administration and North Central Small Business Development Center for business resources.

Intellegence ++

The LaunchPad is the home of the first inclusive design and entrepreneurship program in the country. The innovative, interdisciplinary program is a partnership of the LaunchPad, the Taishoff Center for Inclusive Higher Education (InclusiveU) and the College of Visual and Performing Arts (VPA) through a generous donation by Gianfranco Zaccai ’70 H’09 and the Zaccai Foundation for Augmented Intelligence (Intelligence++).

Intelligence++ includes an inclusive entrepreneurship and design course, DES 400-600, taught in the LaunchPad at Bird Library, available as an elective to both undergraduate and graduate students from any school or college at Syracuse University, with an emphasis on interdisciplinary and collaborative innovation, including students with intellectual disability from InclusiveU.

Resources to Get You Started

Acurated a collection of resources to help you bring an idea to life, or just learn more about innovation. Check out the roadmap to help you get started, templates for executive summaries, pitch decks, and business plans. You'll also find a directory of free startup tools, useful blogs, and research databases.