Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
The resources on this guide are split into three categories:
- Finding Background Information
The resources in this box can point you to reference materials and other contextualizing sources to get you up to speed on your topic: understanding background and timelines, learning who key players and communities are, and understanding multiple sides of the issue.
- Finding Research Resources
Research sources in this box focus on scholarly work--research appearing in peer-reviewed scholarly journals--which documents the research that has been undertaken on your topic. This might include medical/biological research, qualitative research in affected communities, or experimental research in a variety of disciplines.
- Finding Information on Current Events
These sources will point you to contemporary news stories about the issues, events, and places you might be studying, providing you with information about how they are currently playing out in the world.
- APA Citation
Tools for ensuring that you properly cite and format the sources you use.
Humanities Subject Specialist
Finding Background Information
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books covering a wide variety of subjects.
Oxford Reference Online
Five simultaneous users only.
Reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Archive of Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Reports on congressional activities, providing historical context and views on issues, information about legislation and more.
You can also browse the Reference Section on the 2nd Floor of Bird Library (near the staircase from the first floor) for a wide variety of reference books.
Finding Research Sources
This is only a small selection of very focused databases that cut across many contemporary issues of study. To locate additional databases, check out the SU Libraries' Databases Menu or consult a librarian.
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.
Index to publications covering the environment, sustainability, green buildings, energy, recycling and more.
Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
Race Relations Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Film & Television Literature Index
SU Libraries is evaluating this resource and welcomes your feedback. Please help us with the evaluation by filling out this brief survey.
Index to journals and magazines covering cinematography, television, production, reviews and more.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Trade, professional and technical society journals and magazines, covering applied sciences, computing, engineering and more from 1983 to present.
Finding Information On Current Events
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
U.S. news content from the 1980s to present, including newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites, and content from the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as local and regional newspapers.
Alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines, and journals, from 1970 to present.
Newspapers, magazines, and journals published by ethnic and minority presses.
Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Wikipedia is not a good source for finding scholarly sources, but it can be one of few places for detailed background information on events, technologies, and phenomena that have not yet been covered elsewhere or that have unfolded primarily in online communities. Additionally, it can point you to other external sources where you can learn more.
APA Citation Video Tutorials
From the OWL at Purdue: APA Format
The APA Style
Developed by the American Psychological Association for its own publications, this style has become the standard for works in the social and behavioral sciences.
From the APA website: