Research Guides: High-Impact Educational Practices: ePortfolios

ePortfolios

Purpose
Research/Resources

ePortfolios are the latest addition to AAC&U’s list of high-impact educational practices, and higher education has developed a range of ways to implement them for teaching and learning, programmatic assessment, and career development. ePortfolios enable students to electronically collect their work over time, reflect upon their personal and academic growth, and then share selected items with others, such as professors, advisors, and potential employers. Because collection over time is a key element of the ePortfolio process, employing ePortfolios in collaboration with other high-impact practices provides opportunities for students to make connections between various educational experiences.

Handbook of Research on ePortfolios
The Handbook of Research on ePortfolios is the single source for comprehensive coverage of the major themes of ePortfolios, addressing all of the major issues, from concept to technology to implementation. It is the first reference publication to provide a complete investigation on a variety of ePortfolio uses through case studies and supporting technologies, and also explains the conceptual thinking behind current uses and potential uses not yet implemented.
Over 100 international experts with countless years of experience lend this handbook the credibility that assures its readers of its extensive, recent, and reliable content. The Handbook of Research on ePortfolios is the first handbook to investigate commercial and academic ePortfolio systems home-grown, off the shelf, and open source and to supply proof-of-concept evidence of successful systems.
High Impact ePortfolio Practice
A Catalyst for Student, Faculty, and Institutional Learning: At a moment when over half of US colleges are employing ePortfolios, the time is ripe to develop their full potential to advance integrative learning and broad institutional change.

The authors outline how to deploy the ePortfolio as a high-impact practice and describe widely-applicable models of effective ePortfolio pedagogy and implementation that demonstrably improve student learning across multiple settings.

Drawing on the campus ePortfolio projects developed by a constellation of institutions that participated in the Connect to Learning network, Eynon and Gambino present a wealth of data and revealing case studies. Their broad-based evidence demonstrates that, implemented with a purposeful framework, ePortfolios correlate strongly with increased retention and graduation rates, broadened student engagement in deep learning processes, and advanced faculty and institutional learning.
Mahara 1.2 EPortfolios Beginner's Guide : Create Educational and Professional EPortfolios and Personalized Learning Communities
Mahara is a user-centred environment with a permissions framework that enables different views of an e-portfolio to be easily managed. These views helps you display your artefacts – text files, spreadsheets, images, and videos – in a way you choose and to the people you want. You can also create online communities and social networks through groups, blogs, and forums.
Transforming Teachers' Formative Assessment Practices Through ePortfolios
While common across the primary, secondary and tertiary sectors of education, ePortfolios are relatively new in early childhood education (ECE), nationally and internationally. They are, however, becoming more widespread in New Zealand as a platform to present children's assessment documentation. There is minimal documented evidence of the use of ePortfolios in ECE and as such little is known about how they can impact on teachers' formative assessment practices. This research investigated the use of ePortfolios in an ECE setting, how teachers' formative assessment practices changed through using this technology and what this means for young children's learning.