Research Guides: iSchool Evidence Synthesis Research: Identifying Sources for the Literature Review

Search Strategy Tools

Search Strategies Overview

The Constructing a Search worksheet is a useful tool for mapping concepts and potential searches prior to starting your search in a database. Download the PDF or Word version to get started.

Inclusive Citation: What, Why, and How? guide about Inclusive searching/citation sources from Rowan University's Campbell Library.

Find Books, Articles, Media, and More using Libraries Search

SU Libraries' Libraries Search is the online catalog for finding print and electronic books, media, and more. Visit this page for detailed instructions and videos on the use of Libraries Search. For additional assistance in finding electronic resources, please contact the Libraries via the options listed on the Get Help page.

Starting Points in Identifying Sources

These databases are good starting points for iSchool research. They may contain a mix of journal articles, conference proceedings, and other content.

ACM Digital Library Conference proceedings, articles, books, reports, videos, and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Searches can be expanded to include non-ACM resources.

CHI: Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems

IEEE Xplore Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the UK’s Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); includes all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) published and approved standards
Information Science Journals on library and information studies, including data processing, metadata architectures, information infrastructure, and publishing. Provided by NOVELNY.
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text Journal articles covering library and information science topics, such as literacy, cataloging and classification, and library-related legislation and more.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts Index and abstracts to journal articles, books, research reports, and proceedings covering libraries, information science, technology, information management, and more.
PsycArticles Articles from journals published by APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe and Huber covering basic, applied, and clinical psychology, animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
PsycInfo Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
Scopus Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, includes Scopus AI.
Web of Science Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.

To find more databases available from SU Libraries, consult the Databases A-Z list.

Your Google Scholar

Google Scholar will link to our full text online articles even off-campus if you set up your Syracuse University affiliation in Google Scholar Settings. Follow the steps below.

NOTE: Setting up Google Scholar to link to our library holdings must be done when you are off-campus.

Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)
Click on in the upper left corner, then select Settings or
Click on Library Links in the left column.
Type Syracuse University in the Library Links search box.
Select Syracuse University, Syracuse University Libraries – Gale Full Text, and Open WorldCat.
Click Save.
Full text links will be found in the right column of a search results page. When no full-text link is given try clicking on the title and sometimes the full-text will be available.