Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Linking to SU Libraries' Online Resources

Learn how to create permanent, sharable, and proxy-friendly links to SU Libraries' online resources

Linking to Individual Licensed Databases

1. Find your database.  In this example, we use ProQuest.  A recommended place to grab a permalink to your database is via the library's Classic Catalog [enter the database's name as a "title" search]

S U Libraries Homepage

2. Using the catalog item record for that database, copy the link labeled Electronic Resource: Right click and "Copy Link Location" or "Copy Shortcut".

Classic Catalog Item Record for ProQuest Database

3. Paste that link into your course website or other course management system, following instructions relevant to that platform

ALTERNATIVELY - One can navigate to the SU Libraries DATABASES A-Z LIST, and right click (or otherwise "COPY LINK LOCATION") on any link to one or more of those licensed databases {For example, to embed the streaming video database, Kanopy, into your course, right click (or "COPY LINK LOCATION") on the A TO Z menu's link to Kanopy

sample s u libraries databases a to z list showing link to kanopy database

Linking to Sets of Databases for a Discipline of Type of Content

Faculty also have the option of linking to subsets of licensed databases relevant to a discipline or type of content.  Submenus are available at the main SU Libraries Databases A-Z List.

For example, here is a case of selection of "social work, family & aging" from the A to Z list's menu of  "all subjects."  After selecting a desired subject discipline (in this case, social work), copy the URL from the browser window (no proxy prefix required for these menu pages).  In this example, that URL leading to fourteen (14) databases pertinent to social work, family & aging is:  https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/az.php?s=53237

In the 2nd example below one sees a case of selection of "news & newspapers" from the A to Z list's menu of "all database types."  After selecting a type of database (such as 'news and newspapers' or 'video' or 'ebook publisher collections,'  etc.), copy the URL(s) from the browser window (no proxy prefix required).  For example, to embed the list of thirty-six (36) news and newspaper databases, that URL is:
https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/az.php?t=20474

EXAMPLE OF LINKING TO THE LIBRARY'S LICENSED DATABASES LIST FOR SOCIAL WORK, FAMILY & AGING [copy URL from browser window; No proxy prefix required]

sublist of social work, family and aging databases

EXAMPLE OF LINKING TO THE LIBRARY'S LICENSED DATABASES LIST FOR NEWS AND NEWSPAPERS [copy URL from browser window; no proxy prefix required]

sublist of news and newspaper databases