Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TXT: Finding Background Information and Images
For basic background information, art collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference and image sources:
- Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more.
- Grove Art Online
Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Collection of 300,000 images for use in the teaching and study of art, architecture and archaeology.
- Textile Design (eBook)
Offers students and those wishing to enter a career in textile design a basic grounding in its three main disciplines - printed, woven and mixed media.
- Woven Textile Design (eBook)
Offers a comprehensive introduction to weaving for all those wishing to design and produce a wide range of fabrics from scratch.
- Textiles and Textile Production in Europe From Prehistory to AD 400 (eBook)
Detailed sourcebook and overview of the development of European textile technology and economy from prehistory to AD 400.
TXT: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
- Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
- International Bibliography of Art
Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.