Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: IRP

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• Europa World
  Full-text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
   
• United Nations Statistics Division (United Nations)
  Collects data from many countries on many topics; a good source of international data.
   
• United Nations Treaty Collection
  Contains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the United Nations Treaty Series Cumulative Index, and the League of Nations Treaty Series, the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties.
   
• World Development Indicators Online
  Contains statistical data for over 590 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
   
• World Development Report Online (World Bank)
  Online source for "every page of every World Development Report published by the World Bank since the first report was released in 1978."
   
• Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
  Includes biographies, articles on events, coverage of international trade developments, and a dozen essays on critical isssues written by influential figures.
   
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
  Includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• CIAO
  Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO includes working papers, conference proceedings, books, journal tables of contents, and WWW links.
   
• PAIS Index
  Chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more.
   
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage.
   
• EconLit
  Provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. Covers both economic theory and application.
   
• E.I.U.: The Economist Intelligence Unit
  Objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment for almost 200 countries. Includes reports on certain strategic industries and on the latest management thinking.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu