Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: FST

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems
  Comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline.
   
• Encyclopedia of Food Science Research
  Presents and discusses current research in the study of food science.
   
• Bringing It to the Table: On Farming and Food (eBook)
  Essays address such concerns as: How does organic measure up against locally grown? What are the differences between small and large farms, and how does that affect what you put on your dinner table? What can you do to support sustainable agriculture?
   
• The Global Food Economy: The Battle for the Future of Farming (eBook)
  Examines the human and ecological cost of what we eat and the current food economy.
   
• Imagining Sustainable Food Systems (eBook)
  Using a wide range of case studies, provides a critical overview showing how and where theory and practice can converge to produce more sustainable food systems.
   
• Public Produce: The New Urban Agriculture (eBook)
  Profiles urban food growing efforts, illustrating that there is both a need and a desire to supplement our existing food production methods outside the city with opportunities inside the city.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• AGRICOLA
  Worldwide literature citations pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields.
   
• ScienceDirect
  Full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters in scientific, technical and medical fields.
   
• GreenFILE
  Makes connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
   
• PAIS Index
  Chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more.
   
• Scopus
  Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
   
• Web of Science
  Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu