Research Guides: IST 605 (2U): Reference and Information Literacy Services: Evaluating Databases

Resource Review

Education Source Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.

Ulrichsweb Information about currently published as well as discontinued magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, and other serials.
Journalytics Information about journals in accounting, business, computer science, education health administration, management, psychology and psychiatry.

Title:
Publisher:
Content:
Audience:
Information for authors:
Subscription information:
Additional information: Ulrichsweb (on SU Libraries’ Databases list) or Journal Whitelist.

Product name:
Publisher/vendor:
Product description/range of subjects:
Type of content (journal articles? books? video? images? data?):
Size of database (number of journals indexed; books; videos; or other content):
Years of coverage – earliest? Current?
Special features:
Search tips/symbols/operators for this database (and availability of HELP to find them):
Acquisitions/collections/technical factors, such as licensing; access models (including digital rights); multi-user simultaneous use; and more
Other factors to consider:

We are focusing primarily on:

Choices:

All Subjects: Advertising; Business & Entrepreneurship; Library & Information Science; Statistics & Data and more
All Database Types: Audio; Ebook Publisher collection; Images; Maps and more
All Vendors/Providers: Academic Rights Press; Emerald; WWD and more
Search for Databases box (use full word or truncationAlphabetical list
If you select one category, click Clear filters before moving to a different category

ProQuest Congressional Publications related to or from the United State Congress and the Executive branch from 1789 to the present that include laws, legislative histories, House and Senate hearings, bills and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, plus Executive Orders, Proclamations and other documents related to the presidency.

Gale Primary Sources Primary source interface for selected archival collections.

Academic Video Online Streaming videos, including documentaries, newsreels and programs, interviews, and performances, on a wide range of subjects from providers such as CBS, Universal, and The Open University.

Data Axle Reference Solutions Includes profiles on United States and Canadian companies (including smaller private companies), a U.S. New Businesses search (with new businesses added weekly), a U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database (where consumers can be identified with criteria such as income level and area of interest/hobbies), and directories of U.S. and Canadian residents.

MarketLine Company, country, industry and product -related reports, analysis, news and case studies .