Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Madrid Resources: MES

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• Credo Reference Religion
  Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
   
• Europa World
  Full-text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
   
• EHARF World Cultures
  Cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
   
• Oxford Islamic Studies Online
  Growing collection of content, including more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields, and much more.
   
• Muslims of Europe: The "Other" Europeans (eBook)
  Analyses the prospects for a European future where pluralism is accepted within unified societies, and the presence of a Muslim community that is of Europe, not simply in it.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• ATLA Religion Database
  An essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities.
   
• Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
  A systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
   
• Mideastwire
  Offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
   
• Historical Abstracts with Full Text
  Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
   
• JSTOR
  Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
   
• Philosopher's Index
  Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu