Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Books and E-Books
Counseling Theory by
Publication Date: 2014-01-16
Counseling Theory: Guiding Reflective Practice continues the goals set out in the series of texts on developing professional identity in counseling for the theories course. Each chapter provides students with a snapshot of a particular theory/approach, the major thinkers associated with each theory, application to a single case study, and critical thinking and application questions to help them internalize the content presented and apply it to their own development as a counselor. Beginning with chapters on understanding the nature of theory, multicultural considerations, and a presentation of the case it them noves on to all the major theoretical approaches such as Frued and psychoanalysis, Adler, Rogers, Existentialism, Gestalt, cognitive behavioral, Reality, Family, Feminist and postmodern approaches. Finally the last part discuss integration of theory and a global perspective. Rich with pedagogical and ancillary features, including: verbatim client/therapist dialogue to help students understand application, guided practice exercises to help student internatize and grow their sense of counselor identity, video vignettes for each chapter/major theory posted to the student study website.
Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy in an International Context by
Call Number: BF636.6 .H36 2013
Publication Date: 2012-09-06
Many factors in the world today, such as globalization and a rise in immigration, are increasing the need for mental health practitioners to acquire the ability to interact effectively with people of different cultures. This text will be the most comprehensive volume to address this need to date, exploring the history, philosophy, processes, and trends in counseling and psychotherapy in countries from all regions of the globe. Organized by continent and country, each chapter is written by esteemed scholars drawing on intimate knowledge of their homelands. They explore such topics as their countries¿ demographics, counselor education programs, current counseling theories and trends, and significant traditional and indigenous treatment and healing methods. This consistent structure facilitates quick and easy comparisons and contrasts across cultures, offering an enhanced understanding of diversity and multicultural competencies. Overall, this text is an invaluable resource for practitioners, researchers, students, and faculty, showing them how to look beyond their own borders and cultures to enhance their counseling practices.
Handbook of LGBT-Affirmative Couple and Family Therapy by
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
The editors and contributors of this comprehensive text provide a unique and important contribution to LGBT clinical literature. Spanning 30 chapters, they discuss the diverse and complex issues involved in LGBT couple and family therapy. In almost 15 years, this book provides the first in-depth overview of the best practices for therapists and those in training who wish to work effectively with LGBT clients, couples, and families need to know, and is only the second of its kind in the history of the field. The clinical issues discussed include * raising LGBT children * coming out * elderly LGBT issues * sex therapy * ethical and training issues Because of the breadth of the book, its specificity, and the expertise of the contributing authors and editors, it is the definitive handbook on LGBT couple and family therapy.
Mastering Competencies in Family Therapy by
Publication Date: 2017-04-21
MASTERING COMPETENCIES IN FAMILY THERAPY: A PRACTICAL APPROACH TO THEORY AND CLINICAL CASE DOCUMENTATION, 3rd Edition provides a competency-based approach that introduces couple and family therapy theories while simultaneously teaching you how to complete clinical documentation. Using a light and inviting tone, Diane R. Gehart provides detailed instructions and examples that enable you to complete real-world clinical forms, which are incorporated into the text. Diversity and research considerations are integrated into theoretical discussions and practical applications to facilitate a more holistic and nuanced understanding of couple and family therapy.
Theories of Counseling and Psychotherapy by
Publication Date: 2017-05-15
A unique and useful overview of important approaches to counseling and psychotherapy by an expert author and educator. Focusing on contemporary approaches and practical applications, it is a must-have for students and clinicians alike. This innovative new text presents a comprehensive review of major theories of counseling and psychotherapy using four paradigms: organic-medical, psychological, systemic/relational, and social constructivist. Designed to be accessible and relevant to practice, the book reinforces learning with the inclusion of objectives, chapter summaries, applications of each theory in practice, and brief biographies of major theorists. The text moves beyond traditional approaches with expansive coverage of relationship-centered and postmodern theories such as Dialectic Behavior Therapy, Emotion Focused Therapy, Solution-Focused Brief Therapy, Narrative Therapy, and others. Each theory is explored in depth in a student-entor dialogue that examines and debates the challenges that arise with each theory. The book also addresses the counseling role in psychiatric case management, reflecting the growing reality of cross-professional collaboration. Practical yet rigorous, the text is a state-of-the-art introduction to contemporary approaches in counseling and psychotherapy for students in counseling, social work, professional psychology, marriage and family therapy, and related professions. Key Features: Delivers comprehensive coverage of relationship-centered counseling theoriesAddresses contemporary approaches in depth, including postmodern theories and psychiatric case managementPresents material in a unified voice by an expert teacher and researcher in the fieldConsistently presents goals, process, counselor role, assessment, management, ideal outcomes, and criticisms pertinent to each approachProvides learning objectives, key terms, concluding summaries, and brief biographies of major theoristsIncludes unique mentor-student dialogues at the end of each chapter that explore, conversationally, the significance of each theory and its application to practice