Counseling and Human Services

This research guide is designed to help walk you through finding counseling and human services related research resources here at Syracuse University Libraries.

This guide is designed to help you quickly find reliable resources for your research. Each section highlights a different type of material—books, videos, databases and key foundational texts—so you can choose what best fits your needs. You don’t need to read the guide straight through; instead, explore the sections most relevant to your project. Use it as a starting point, and don’t hesitate to reach out to your librarian for further support.

Suggest a Title to be added to our collection.

When searching these databases,  the SULinks icon,   will take you to the online journal articles available through our SU Library subscriptions.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar will link to our full text online articles even off-campus if you set up your Syracuse University affiliation in Google Scholar Settings.  Follow the steps below.

NOTE:  Setting up Google Scholar to link to our library holdings must be done when you are off-campus.

1. Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)
2. Click on in the upper left corner, then select Settings or
3. Click on Library Links in the left column.
4. Type Syracuse University in the Library Links search box.
5. Select Syracuse University, Syracuse University Libraries – Gale Full Text, and Open WorldCat.
6. Click Save.
7. Full text links will be found in the right column of a search results page.  When no full-text link is given try clicking on the title and sometimes the full-text will be available.

To answer any questions you may have on library resources, please contact the Libraries 

• Call 315.443.4083
• Text 315.464.0744
• Email libref@syr.edu OR use this form to send your question to library staff; you'll receive an answer within one business day.
• Service Desks
• Subject Librarians
• Sign up to receive emails and updates from the Libraries.

For information on the Libraries Search, visit Libraries Search Information.