Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse More Books from SU Libraries
2015 Songwriter's Market by The most trusted guide to songwriting success! There is a home out there for every song you've written, but in order to place those songs and advance your music career you must arm yourself with steadfast determination, unending passion, and the most accurate music business knowledge available. For more than 38 years, Songwriter's Market has provided songwriters and performing artists with the most complete and up-to-date information needed to place songs with music publishers, find record companies and producers, obtain representation with managers, and more. This comprehensive guide gives you the tools and first-hand knowledge you need to launch your songwriting career right now! In the 2015 edition, you'll also gain access to: A new foreword by hit songwriter and best-selling author Jason Blume New interviews with music publishers, Grammy Award-winning producers, and major music industry leaders Articles about how to create and mix a professional demo at home, how to get the most out of music conferences, and much more Hundreds of songwriting placement opportunities Listings for songwriting organizations, conferences, workshops, retreats, colonies, contests, venues, and grant sources (helpful for indie artists looking to record and tour on their own) *Includes access to the webinar "Song Seeds: How to Jump-start Your Songwriting Process" from author and Berklee College of Music professor Mark Simos.
Call Number: ebook online
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
The Art of Songwriting by How do you turn songwriting talent into a professional career? This essential guide tackles that question, alongside many others, taking songwriters through all the developmental phases and commercial experiences along the way in order to inspire and encourage the reader to find their own voice and write successfully within their chosen genre. Collating the best-available expertise with fresh ideas about the industry, Andrew West equips the reader with what every productive songwriter needs to know: how to write communicative songs that express meaning and convey individuality; how to develop songs into records; how the writer can function as a marketer and seller of original work; how domestic and international markets operate; and how to act and interact meaningfully within the culture of those market. Armed with this knowledge, the songwriter is able to engage creatively and financially to make the most of their potential.
Call Number: ebook online
Publication Date: 2016-07-14
Righting Wrongs in Writing Songs by This book gives both aspiring and seasoned songwriters a powerful new approach to writing songs, focusing on common obstacles in the songwriting process and techniques to help songwriters overcome them. Each chapter goes to the root of a specific songwriting problem and provides exercises to help readers over the hurdles and put their new skills to work. Topics include writing approach, purpose, structure, melodic significance and construction, basic music theory, word meaning, word design and arrangement, chords, and how they are all pieced together. Along the way, a song is created to act as a case study and a demonstration of what each exercise can result in. The lessons are fun, informal, and include fresh suggestions and exercises born out of the author's experience in teaching songwriting at the college level. The book's companion website provides audio clips to accompany the relevant exercises and examples presented in the book.
Call Number: ebook online
Publication Date: 2008-11-20
New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary by From writing poems to writing birthday cards, and from the garrett to the classroom, the New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary has what every writer (or budding writer) needs. It contains rhymes for over 45,000 words, including proper names, place names, and foreign terms used in English. The organization and layout are remarkably clear, making it easy to find the rhymes you're looking for. Words are grouped clearly by sound and there is also a complete A-Z index to help you quickly navigate to the relevant section. In-text notes offer tips on using rhymes effectively, makesuggestions for expanding the rhyming lists included in the book, and give examples of how poets past and present have used rhyme. The fascinating introduction by Professor John Lennard offers a brief outline of rhyming in its literary and historical contexts, and gives further advice on creative writing. This new edition includes over 200 words added to the Oxford Dictionary of English since the publication of the lastedition, including iPod, Americano, and vuvuzela. The New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary is a must-have tool for poets, lyricists, and writers of all kinds, as well as a delight for everyone who likes to play with words.
Call Number: ebook online
Publication Date: 2012-09-08
Game & Interactive Audio
Soundtrack Success: A Digital Storyteller's Guide to Audio Post-Production by Whether you make narratives, documentaries, news shows, training videos, podcasts, games, or some other media, sound has a great impact on what people see, believe, and remember. When you dedicate attention to every element that makes up the whole soundtrack -- dialogue, sound effects, and music -- your story will hold more meaning for the audience, and you'll deliver your message in a more memorable way. Thankfully, putting together a better soundtrack is the easiest, fastest, and most effective way to make your production better. SOUNDTRACK SUCCESS will show you how to do it. It's a non-software-specific guide to the entire realm of audio post-production, with particular attention paid to fixing problems, sweetening sound, and pulling together a complete soundtrack. You'll learn how to use dialogue, voiceover, walla, backgrounds, sound effects, Foley, and music, and you'll discover how to record, edit, mix, master, and deliver high-quality and high-impact soundtracks. The companion DVD includes video tutorials and examples that further demonstrate the many concepts and techniques described in the book. This complete primer is your key to making soundtracks that soar.
Call Number: ebook online
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
The Oxford Handbook of Interactive Audio by As audiences are increasingly no longer solely listeners but also active producer-consumers, and as video games and other interactive systems increasingly permeate our daily lives, understanding interactivity and its impact on the audience has never been more important. A collection of newlycommissioned chapters on interactivity in music and sound edited by preeminent scholars in the field, this book marks the beginning of a journey into understanding the ways in which we interact with sound, and offers a new set of analytical tools for the growing field of interactive audio. What does it mean to interact with sound? How does interactivity alter our experience as creators and listeners? What makes interactive audio different from non-interactive audio? Where does interacting with audio fit into our understanding of sound and music? What does the future hold forinteractive media when it comes to our musical and sonic experiences? And how do we begin to approach interactive audio from a theoretical perspective? The Oxford Handbook of Interactive Audio answers these questions by exploring the full range of interactive audio in video games, performance,education, environmental design, toys, and artistic practice. Examining these questions from a range of approaches -- technological, emotional, psychological, and physical -- the book provides a thorough overview of the fascinating experience of interactive sound.
Call Number: ebook online
Publication Date: 2014-05-02
Composing Music for Video Games by Composing Music for Games is a guidebook for launching and maintaining a successful career as a video game composer. It offers a pragmatic approach to learning, intensified through challenging project assignments and simulations. Author Chance Thomas begins with the foundation of scoring principles applicable to all media, and then progresses serially through core methodologies specific to video game music. This book offers a powerful blend of aesthetic, technique, technology and business, which are all necessary components for a successful career as a video game composer.
Call Number: MT64.V53 T46 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-24
Commercial, Radio, & TV Audio
Writing Music for Commercials by In Writing Music for Commercials: Television, Radio, and New Media, professor, composer, arranger, and producer Michael Zager describes the process of composing and arranging music specifically for commercials across the growing variety of media formats. Writing music for commercials requires composers not only learn the craft of writing short-form compositions that can stand on their own, but also understand the advertising business. In this third edition of his original Writing Music for Television and Radio Commericals, Zager walks starting composers through the business and art of writing music that aims for a product's target audience and, when done well, hits its mark. Chapter by chapter, Zager covers a broad array of topics: how to approach and analyze commercials from a specifically musical perspective, the range of compositional techniques for underscoring and composing jingles, the standard expectations and techniques for arranging and orchestration, and finally the composing of music for radio commercials, corporate videos, infomercials, theatrical trailers, video games, Internet commercials, websites, and web series (webisodes). This third edition has been updated to include more in-depth analysis of the changing landscape of music writing for modern media, with critical information on composing not only for the Web but for mobile applications, from video-driven advertising in online newspapers to electronic greeting cards. Zager also includes new interviews with industry professionals, updated business information, the latest sound design concepts, and much more. Writing Music for Commercials: Television, Radio, and New Media features: -Easy-to-read chapters for beginning and intermediate music composition students -Over a hundred graphics and musical examples -Interviews with industry professionals -An assortment of assignments to train and test readers, preparing them for the world of writing music for various media -Online audio samples that illustrate the book's principles Writing Music for Commercials is designed not only for composers but for students and professionals at every level.
Call Number: MT67 .Z34 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-19
Music Editing for Film and Television by Making music for the movies is a complicated, involved, and challenging process. Music Editing for Film and Television covers the practical skills needed to successfully hone your craft. Through an overview of the music editing process, this book will equip you with detailed techniques to solve musical problems encountered during editing. An abundance of interviews with well-known professionals provide a wide range of perspectives on music editing for film, while special features address an array of projects, from a low-budget documentary, to a Hollywood blockbuster, to indie projects.
Call Number: ML3795 .S2326 2014
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Software & Programming Manuals
Getting Started with C++ Audio Programming for Game Development by This book is a standard tutorial targeted at game developers which aims to help them incorporate audio programming techniques to enhance their gameplay experience.This book is perfect for C++ game developers who have no experience with audio programming and who would like a quick introduction to the most important topics required to integrate audio into a game.
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
Pro Tools 10 for Game Audio by With a basic understanding of Pro Tools, and the information in this book, you will be on your way to joining the exciting world of producing game audio. PRO TOOLS 10 FOR GAME AUDIO covers the world of Pro Tools audio production in the gaming environment. In this book, you will be guided, step-by-step, through eight different components of game audio, including music, dialog, and sound effects. You'll also cover using Pro Tools to create audio assets, and you'll learn how to implement them in Unity, an open-source game engine. With its practical, hands-on, full-color approach to game audio, the book lets you see your work in action as you progress through the lessons. Learn game audio production on the industry standard audio application, Pro Tools, with PRO TOOLS 10 FOR GAME AUDIO.
Publication Date: 2012-01-23