Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Architecture Source
Journals, books, and images covering fine arts, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design.
The databases where you can find articles are in alphabetical order and
NOT according to importance, since each researcher will have a different
thesis and needs.
Art, architecture, and archaeology images including images from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
Google Image Search
Search images throughout the web.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Generate Keywords for Searching
Take a moment to think about your topic.
Define your topic by asking yourself a set of questions.
Turn your topic into a research question (a thesis topic).
Think of words and phrases to use in a search for information regarding your topic.
If nothing works, change your search terms to find more specific or more general information.
Remember you can always ask for research help from a librarian.
Visual, fashion related databases
Berg Fashion Library
Berg collections of texts and images related to dress and fashion throughout history. Content includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books covering a wide variety of subjects.
Grove Art Online
14 simultaneous users only.
The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) covering both Western and non-Western art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition).
Page images of U.S. Vogue from 1892 to present.