Research Guides: Counseling and Human Services: Research Databases

Contents of this Page

Please use these links to jump to the content below.

Counseling, Psychology, and Education Databases

Psychotherapy.net
Streaming video related to social work, psychotherapy, and counseling. Content created by Psychotherapy.net. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, interviews, and other content for training mental health professionals. Browsable by therapeutic approach, issue, expert, and population.

Counseling and Therapy in Video
Videos related to counseling, social work, psychotherapy, clinical psychology, and theory. Includes counseling sessions and transcripts.
Education Source
Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
PsycInfo
Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
SAGE Knowledge
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.

Social Work and Sociology Databases

ProQuest Social Sciences
Includes: Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, ProQuest Sociology, PAIS International, ERIC, and more.
PsychiatryOnline
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual/DSM 5, DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-IV-TR Casebook and its Treatment Companion, The American Journal of Psychiatry and additional journals.
Social Work Abstracts
Four simultaneous users only.

Index and abstracts to publications covering homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).
Sociology Database
Journals covering sociology and social work.

Age Groups Databases

AgeLine
Index to articles, book chapters, reports, dissertations, and video related to aging, from health sciences, social, economic, and policy perspectives.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Publications and index to information about child abuse, adoption, foster care and more provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Index and abstracts to publications covering criminal justice, law, and forensic sciences.

Ethnic Groups Databases

Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, articles, historical newspaper articles, related to Black Studies, from fields such as literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Chicano Database
Index to materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present, produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Includes coverage of Latinx experience, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants,
HAPI Online
Index to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, covering Latin America, the Caribbean, Hispanics and Latinos in the United States; a project of the Latin American Institute, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).
EHRAF World Cultures
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) index to documents related to ethnography and global cultures .
Race Relations Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.

Please see our list of Subject Guides for more databases covering countries and cultures.

Gender Databases

Contemporary Women's Issues
Articles on women's issues covering such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights. Coverage starts with 1992.
Duke University Press Books
The Duke University Press book collections provide access to over 2,800 e-books in the humanities and social sciences, which includes gender studies,Feminism and Women's Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Queer Theory, Sex and Sexuality
and Trans Studies.
LGBTQ+ Source
Publications related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender communities.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering women and gender studies, including education, employment, family and community, medicine and health, social policy, media, biography, history, and more.
Women's Studies International
Index to women's studies and feminist research literature published in journals, newsletters, bulletins, books reports, dissertations and grey literature.

Health Databases

Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library Online provides access to evidence-based resources related to healthcare decision-making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Clinical Answers.
MEDLINE
Index to 3,500+ journals in the areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nutrition, dentistry, pathology, psychiatry, toxicology, health administration and nursing. It is accessible through the databases Web of Science as well as Scopus.
PubMed
MEDLINE and citations from additional life science journals, from the National Library of Medicine.

Citation Databases

Learn about your scholarly impact on the Scholarly Impact Guide.

Google Scholar
Be sure to set up your scholar preferences for finding SU owned content.
Scopus
The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing publications.
Web of Science
Search for citations to articles in top-ranked, peer-reviewed journals.

Contact a Librarian

Giovanna Colosi

Email Me

Contact:

The best and quickest way to reach me is 8:30 AM-5PM EST Mon-Fri via email. grcolosi@syr.edu I am available also for video or phone consultations.

Subjects: Disability Studies, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility, Education

Suggest a Title

Suggest a Title to be added to our collection.

How to Find the Full Article Online

When searching these databases, the SULinks icon, will take you to the online journal articles available through our SU Library subscriptions.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar will link to our full text online articles even off-campus if you set up your Syracuse University affiliation in Google Scholar Settings. Follow the steps below.

NOTE: Setting up Google Scholar to link to our library holdings must be done when you are off-campus.

Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)
Click on in the upper left corner, then select Settings or
Click on Library Links in the left column.
Type Syracuse University in the Library Links search box.
Select Syracuse University, Syracuse University Libraries – Gale Full Text, and Open WorldCat.
Click Save.
Full text links will be found in the right column of a search results page. When no full-text link is given try clicking on the title and sometimes the full-text will be available.

Additional subject databases to consider

Also consider databases in these subject guides:

Disability Studies
Education
Gender & Women's Studies
Government Information
Health & Wellness (especially Public Health)
Psychology
Sociology
Statistics