A collection of databases covering a broad range of subject areas such as: business and economics; medical and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, conference proceedings and patents. Includes the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database spanning every discipline. Connects publications and researchers through citations and controlled indexing. Contains current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Also includes Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Zoological Records, Current Contents Connect, and Index Chemicus / Current Chemical Reactions.
Books and images for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. Includes Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture, images from the National Archives at Kew, and other scholarly titles.
Books and images for the study of culture throughout the ages, including animals, food, work, fashion, the human body, media, and more. Includes the Bloomsbury Cultural History series and other scholarly history titles.
Books, reference, and museum object images for the scholarly study of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. Includes the Encyclopedia of Design, Encyclopedia of East Asian Design, and exhibition archives from the Museum of Craft and Design, San Francisco.
Images, videos, reference, biographies, and peer reviewed articles for research in international fashion and dress. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, the Valerie Steele Core Collection of fashion photographs. Contains the modules Berg Fashion Library and Fashion Photography Archive.
Videos from the YOOX-NET-A-PORTER Runway Archive Collections 1979 to 2003. Also includes scholarly articles relevant to the collection covering key shows, evolution of trends, iconic designers, and runways as performance art.
Books and reference works in food studies, food history and anthropology of food, with a broad coverage of topics, periods, and cultures. Image collections include content from the Culinary Arts Museum at Johnson & Wales University, The National Archives (UK), and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Scholarly books and reference works published by Bloomsbury on world popular music. Includes the Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the Bloomsbury 33 1/3 book series on influential music albums, and other Bloomsbury titles.
This resource requires creating an individual account using your @syr.edu address and creation of password (do not use your NetID login/password). First time users, register here and see additional information on the New York Times guide, as well as New York Times Terms of Service and Privacy agreements.
New York Times print and digital content (1851-present), including current video, image and podcast content, as well as archival access from 1851-1923. ArchivalTimes Machine access has a five article per day limit from 1923 to 1980 for PDF viewing/downloading. Does not include crossword puzzles or recipes.
Screenplays and scholarly books covering filmmaking, film history, screenwriting, and film studies. Includes titles from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber, and several book series from the British Film Institute.