Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a library database?
Syracuse University Digitized Collections
Art & Architecture Source
Abstracts for journal articles in 400 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, and film reviews.
Art Index Retrospective : 1929-1984
One simultaneous user only.
Articles, interviews, reviews, yearbooks and museum publications, from 1929-1984.
Index and abstracts to articles, essays, reviews, and more covering modern and contemporary art from the 19th century to the present.
Art, architecture, and archaeology images including images from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO includes working papers, conference proceedings, books, journal tables of contents, and WWW links. Covers 1991 to the present.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books covering a wide variety of subjects.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ Syracuse University
Dissertations and theses from Syracuse University, from 1870 to the present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from around the world rom 1743 to the present day and with full text for many primarily from 1997.
Eighteenth Century Journals
British periodicals published from 1685-1835, documenting colonial life, French and American revolutions, literature, fashion, politics, and gossip. Features many titles targeted towards women, plus an image gallery, chronology, and background essays. Includes modules 1-5.
Grove Art Online
Also called Oxford Art on Line
Grove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) – the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Einstein's Five Types of Montage
Impressionism - more background information
Grove Art Online
14 simultaneous users only.
The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) covering both Western and non-Western art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition).
Heilbrun Timeline of Art History