Art Resources: Art DH

The Digital Art History Directory (DAHD) is an open-access publication containing a database of digital art history projects and information on data sources, best practices in Digital Art History project construction, preservation, and web archiving. Intended to be the largest, most comprehensive, and inclusive collection of information on Digital Art History and to function as a tool and living resource, rather than a static publication, the DAHD provides a platform for discovery, sharing, and research of Digital Art History.

browse or search an open-source bibliography of specialized digital resources and born-digital scholarship in music. Here you may tour the world of digital humanities in music, loosely interpreted. The entries in this directory were compiled over a period of five years: 2018-2023; links are maintained by the DH SIG of the Music Library Assoc.

While the focus is on Music projects, many include medieval manuscripts, illuminations, and other visual elements.

A Zotero group for resources on data physicalization. (Making data visualizations by crafting.)

The HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) enables large-scale analysis of works in the HathiTrust Digital Library (HTDL) to facilitate non-profit research and educational uses of the collection. HTRC, which is co-located at Indiana University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, engages in research and development for text analysis of massive digital libraries. (Available until the end of 2026)

A guide to using ArcGIS and its storymaps tool for faculty, students, and staff at Syracuse University.

The Lab develops prototypes, projects and services that help make information meaningful and promote quality journalism, storytelling and content on the internet. Includes: Juxtapose, Scene, Soundcite, Storyline, Storymap, and Timeline with additional tools in beta.

OpenRefine is a powerful free, open source tool for working with messy data: cleaning it; transforming it from one format into another; and extending it with web services and external data.

Omeka is a web publishing platform for sharing digital collections and creating media-rich online exhibits. Has both free and paid tiers.

Twine is an open-source tool for telling interactive, nonlinear stories.

Gephi is an open-source software for visualizing and analyzing large network graphs.

A semantic web-authoring tool.

The Linked Editing Academic Framework - A Virtual Research Environment for the Humanities

Converts documents into TEI format.

Mei-friend is an editor for music encodings, hosted at the mdw – University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna.

Syracuse University provides active users access to LinkedIn Learning to help explore thousands of business, tech, and creative courses to get the skills they need.

Novice-friendly, peer-reviewed tutorials that help humanists learn a wide range of digital tools, techniques, and workflows to facilitate research and teaching.

The R graph gallery is a collection of charts made with the R programming language. Hundreds of charts are displayed in several sections, always with their reproducible code available. The gallery focuses on the tidyverse and ggplot2.

Resources and tutorials to help you use Voyant from San Diego State University Libraries.

Resources gathered by the Text Encoding Initiative to help members teach themselves to TEI.

This free, novice-friendly tutorial introduces prospective digital humanists to basic JavaScript tools through hands-on projects using literary text repositories.

Introduction to doing sentiment analysis, word and document frequency analysis, and topic modeling with the tidytext R package.

Tutorials designed for users with some familiarity with R, but require no knowledge of spatial analysis.

Tutorial materials for managing GIS data with Python.

Teaching command line,html, and python basics for humanists.

The Carpentries teaches foundational coding and data science skills to researchers worldwide and includes resources on data, library, and software themes.

dh+lib publishes original posts that offer GLAM perspectives on digital humanities and digital scholarship. We have been proud to include posts that announce new initiatives, report on events of note to the DH and library community, provide overviews of the field, respond to the scholarly literature on DH and libraries, comment on larger issues, or write up a case study of an institutional project.

Khamseen: Islamic Art History Online is a scholarly platform for introducing concepts, terms, projects, and resources for teaching and working with the art, architecture, and visual culture of Islam.

This project represents a preliminary effort to map the Federal Art Project's community art center initiative.

A suite of easy-to-use web tools for beginners that introduce concepts of working with data.

Simple browser-based text analysis with many approaches and display options.

Create visualizations, tell stories, or create interactive content. Has a free tier.

A free software that can allow anyone to connect to a spreadsheet or file and create interactive data visualizations for the web

A web-based data visualization platform for creating thematic maps and reports with demographic and socio-economic data of the United States. Four Simultaneous users.

An online text analysis platform which provides services such as Text Similarity Analysis, Entity Extraction, and Text Classification. An example of a suite/platform available (for a fee if you are doing anything beyond basic) with many techniques.

A web-based The constrained writing platform with dozens of operations.

TwoTone is a fun and intuitive way to make your own compositions from datasets without any prior musical or programming knowledge.