Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

ENL 213 - Academic Writing & Research for Non-native Speakers of English (2019): Finding Articles

Companion guide to the ENL 213 library research sessions

Using the Internet

Wikipedia is an excellent place to start to get background on your topic and find good keywords for searching your topic. 

Wikipedia provides alternative words, history, application, and list of references.

Using the Internet - Google

Google can be a source for useful and current articles, as well as fake news, so you must evaluate what you find.

Some Google searches will provide a short list of scholarly articles, which link out to Google Scholar.  Be sure to set up Google Scholar so it will allow you to access resources provided by Syracuse University Libraries.  See next box.

How to Set-up Google Scholar for Off-Campus and Exporting to RefWorks

Set up Google Scholar so you can access our subscriptions from off the campus networks.  This will allow you to get articles we subscribe to even when traveling.  You may also set up an export to RefWorks link.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Off Campus Access

Are you Off-Campus?

Most of the databases are available only to members of Syracuse University.

If you are not on campus, you will be asked to log-in with your NetID before the selected database will open. Follow the directions that will come up on the screen

Problems? See Working Off Campus for more details.

Find Research Guides and Databases

Find the Article in a Database

If you are using a database, such as ProQuest, linking out to the actual article may not be obvious.

If there is no full-text or PDF link for the article Use the SULinks  to take you to the full-text.

Also use SULinks for requesting your article via Interlibrary Loan for the fastest service.  This is a free service that will obtain articles for you, usually within 2 days.

Try finding the full-text article via Google, Google Scholar, or Summon if the SULinks fails.