Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Research at the Pan Am Flight 103/Lockerbie Air Disaster Archives

About the Pan Am Flight 103/Lockerbie Air Disaster Archives

Founded in 1990, the Pan Am Flight 103/Lockerbie Air Disaster Archives is part of the Special Collections Research Center at Syracuse University Libraries. The Archives' mission is to bring together in one place original materials generated regarding the December 21, 1988 bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland and make those materials available for research. The Archives also provides a place to personalize the 270 lives that were lost.

The Archives consists of over 400 linear feet of collections pertaining to the disaster and its aftermath. Materials contained in these collections include, but are not limited to:

  • Print and broadcast media coverage
  • Government and investigative documents and reports
  • Materials documenting the lives of the victims, including personal correspondence, photographs, writings and journals, and personal belongings.
  • Documentation of the experiences of surviving friends, families, and witnesses.
  • Records of Pan Am 103/Lockerbie victims' and families' groups and organizations.
  • Litigation and legislation

Materials in the Pan Am Flight 103/Lockerbie Air Disaster Archives are available for research to all members of the Syracuse Community and the general public. However, some collection materials are restricted by donor request or in accordance with federal law.

Visit the Special Collections Research Center or Submit a Reference Request

Collections can be accessed in person in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) reading room, located on the 6th floor of Bird Library. Additional information about our reading room policies, requesting a visit, and handling guidelines are available on the Visit SCRC page found at this link.

Reference, duplication, and permissions requests and inquiries can also be submitted remotely to pa103archives@syr.edu. Inquiries are answered in the order in which they are received, with prioritization given to current Syracuse University faculty, students, and staff. Additional information about services available through the Special Collections Research Center is available at this link.