The Pan Am Flight 103/Lockerbie Air Disaster Archives' collections are available to the public through the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) reading room on the 6th floor of Bird Library. Please note, the reading room is open Monday-Friday only. As a general rule, reading room hours are Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m. with extended evening hours on Wednesdays, 9 a.m.- 7 p.m. while classes are in session. Current open hours can be found on the Syracuse University Libraries' Weekly Building Hours page.
Appointments are encouraged for those wishing to visit the reading room, though walk-ins are accepted dependent on availability of space. Information about scheduling your visit can be found on the Visit SCRC page. Researchers are advised to submit their visit requests two weeks in advance for manuscript material, and up to four weeks in advance for audiovisual materials to allow time for any necessary conservation treatment or the creation of viewing/listening copies.
Once you've identified the items or collections in which you are interested, there are two ways to request materials:
In Person - Visit the reading room and submit manuscript call slips. Our Public Services staff will be happy to provide instructions and assistance with this process. Please allow approximately 15-20 minutes for the registration and retrieval process during your first visit, and sufficient time to review the material you have requested at each visit.
By E-Mail - To submit a request for materials in advance of your visit, e-mail pa103archives@syr.edu with the collection names and box numbers for the materials you wish to view.
For Remote Researchers
To request a virtual research consultation, submit your requests via e-mail to pa103archives@syr.edu or through the Ask A Question box on any finding aid. To discuss specific materials or collections, please include the collection name(s), box number(s), and folder title(s) in your request. While digital versions of select items in the Archives' collections are available online through collection finding aids, Archives staff are available to assist remote researchers by providing additional information about collection content and the duplication request process.
The Archives is happy to provide photocopies, digital scans, and other reproductions of our collection material for researchers. Copies of select collection material for research and publication use are subject to Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) approval and according to US Copyright law. Additional information about our duplications request process, including applicable fees, is available on the SCRC Services page of our website. Current Syracuse University affiliates and members of the Pan Am 103 community may be eligible for duplications at a reduced rate. To inquire about requesting duplications, please contact the Archives at pa103archvies@syr.edu.