Do you need assistance with creating a citation for a resource that is not listed on this page?
Please suggest the type of resource to us and we will add it to this guide!
The use of ChatGPT or other AI tools in assignments should be discussed with your instructor. As a general rule, if you are incorporating any information from an AI tool into your research assignments, you must cite the AI tool or the information that the tool is directing you to.
For more information about ChatGPT and AI, please visit the Libraries' Artificial Intelligence guide.
For faculty/instructors looking for further teaching support and development around ChatGPT and AI, contact CTLE at CTLE@syr.edu.
For anyone with questions about ChatGPT / AI and academic integrity, contact CLASS at aio@syr.edu.
Official APA, MLA, and Chicago style guidance on how to cite ChatGPT:
The general form for CMS Author-Date in-text citation is (Author Last Name Year of Publication, Page Number). Here are some examples of what they would look like:
For one author:
(Brown 2013, 167)
For two or three authors:
(Mitchell and Evans 2017, 31)
For four or more authors:
(Doe et al. 2016, 85)
Authors with the same last name, use first initials:
(M. Mitchell 2016)
(A. Mitchell 2016)
Author with multiple works in the same year:
(Davis 2015a)
(Davis 2015b)
To cite specific pages (such as when you are quoting or paraphrasing a specific part):
(Johnson 2014, 34-45)
To cite more than one source:
(Jones 2013; Williams 2015)
| Print Book |
Format: Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Work: Subtitle. Publication City: Publisher. Bibliography Entry: Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. 2015. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster. In-Text Citation: (Grazer and Fishman 2015, 12) |
| Edited Book |
Format: Author Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title. Edited by First Name Last Name. City of Publication: Publisher. Bibliography Entry: Barker, Heidi Bulmahn. 2004. Teachers and the Reform of Elementary Science: Stories of Conversation and Personal Process. Edited by Ian Westbury and Margery D. Osborne. Greenwich, CT: Information Age Publishing. In-Text Citation: (Barker 2004, 14) |
| Chapter or other part of an Edited Book |
Format: Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Chapter Title." In Title of Book, edited by First Name Last Name, Page Numbers. Publication City: Publisher. Bibliography Entry: Thoreau, Henry David. 2016. "Walking." In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D'Agata, 167-95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press. In-Text Citation: (Thoreau 2016, 176-77) |
| Translated Book |
Format: Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Translated by First Name Last Name. Publication City: Publisher. Bibliography Entry: Lahiri, Jhumpa. 2016. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf. In-Text Citation: (Lahiri 2016, 146). |
| Electronic Book (eBook) |
Format: Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Publication City: Publisher. Media Edition. Note: Media edition might be Kindle edition, PDF e-book, Microsoft Reader e-book, Palm e-book, CD-ROM, etc. Bibliography Entry: Borel, Brooke. 2016. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. ProQuest Ebrary. In-Text Citation: (Borel 2016, 92) |
| Online Encyclopedia or Dictionary | NOTE: Citations for well-known encyclopedias and dictionaries are usually cited only in-text. For majority of other reference works, cite them as you would for an eBook. |
| Print Encyclopedia or Dictionary | NOTE: Citations for well-known encyclopedias and dictionaries are usually cited only in-text. For majority of other reference works, cite them as you would for a print book. |