Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Be physically active, get good sleep, and eat well!
The resources listed here are just a few titles from our vast collections. Search Summon for more!
SU Services at the Barnes Center & Wellness Initiative
Just a few books to start. For more, search Summon
Increasing Physical Activity: a Practical Guide by Only a fifth of adults in the United States do enough physical activity to meet the guidelines set by Centers for Disease Control. The health benefits of regular physical activity are beyond dispute, yet less than 40% of physicians routinely counsel their patients on the importance of physical activity. Increasing Physical Activity: A Practical Guide equips healthcare practitioners to include physical activity counseling in the daily practice of medicine. Written by lifestyle medicine pioneer and cardiologist, Dr James Rippe, this book proves inactivity is a stronger risk factor than other lifestyle factors for cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and many other diseases. It provides evidence-based information on the role of physical activity in preventing and treating chronic conditions and includes practical strategies for healthcare practitioners to prescribe this powerful method to enhance both short and long-term health and quality of life. Features: Specific chapters explain the role of physical activity in reduction of risk of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, osteoarthritis, dementia and many other chronic conditions. Chapters begin with bulleted, key points and conclude with a list of clinical applications. Strategies are provided to encourage previously sedentary individuals to adopt regular physical activity. Physical activity is placed in the context of other lifestyle medicine concepts including maintenance of a healthy body weight, following sound nutritional practices, stress reduction and other practices which impact on health and quality of life. Written for healthcare practitioners at all levels, this is a user-friendly, evidence-based manual for healthcare practitioners looking to incorporate more physical activity counseling into either general medicine or subspecialty practices.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Nutrition for Health, Fitness and Sport by Nutrition for Health, Fitness & Sport, now in its Eleventh edition, provides the reader with thorough coverage of the role nutrition plays in enhancing one's health, fitness, and sport performance. Current research and practical activities are incorporated throughout. This edition welcomes the addition of author, J. David Branch, along with the return of author Eric S. Rawson from the tenth edition, both of whom are actively involved in the disciplines of exercise physiology and sports nutrition, and who have used this textbook over the years to teach their university classes. The eleventh edition truly moves into blending the latest technology for individuals to utilize in combining nutritional and exercise choices for health and sports performance. Featured nutritional information includes the introduction to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics position stand on the total approach to healthy eating and to the latest report on Dietary Guidelines for Americans, while exercise and physical activity featured content includes the introduction to High Intensity Interval Training (HITT) and its possible application to exercise for health, along with the Compendium of Physical Activities. Enhanced discussion of the latest trends of various exercise applications (apps) and personal digital fitness measurement equipment, such as fitness bands and fitness watches, are also hallmarks of the eleventh edition. More than 300 new references, including clinical studies, reviews, and meta-analyses, have also been added to the text.
Call Number: QP141 .W514 2017 Carnegie Library
Publication Date: 2017
The Art of Running: Raising Your Performance with the Alexander Technique by Although running is becoming one of the most popular sports, learning to run properly can take time, energy and consistency. You need to do it regularly to become good at it and until you have achieved a certain level of competence, it is unlikely that you will enjoy it very much, or for very long. For many runners physical and mental barriers can stop progress. This book's ultimate aim is to help you enjoy to run - to enjoy the feeling of movement, to overcome inertia, to renew yourself and to boost energy as a result. Master the Art of Running is based on the proven principles of the Alexander Technique that encourage good body use and greater awareness of the way your body functions and moves. The technique teaches you how to release tension from your back and neck and how to run without suffering from injuries. The authors' perspective on the sport takes them into areas rarely touched on in conventional manuals. Instead of placing importance on speed, targets and goals it emphasises the importance of the way you run so you can transform your training and performance.
Call Number: GV1061 .B35 2016 Bird Library
Publication Date: 2017
Be More Active! Finding Articles
Databases will help you find journal articles about staying fit.
Health and Medicine Nursing and allied health journals and publications. Material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Provided by NOVELNY.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Offers comprehensive, evidence-based, peer-reviewed content on food, herbs, supplements, general health and wellness topics, sports medicine and natural therapies. Additionally, it includes information about commercial product manufacturers and the dietary supplements that they develop. Content is complimented by a series of tools that help the user account for interactions, nutrient depletion (from prescription and over-the-counter medications), efficacy, adverse effects, and safety during pregnancy and lactation.
PubMed This link opens in a new window MEDLINE and citations from additional life science journals, from the National Library of Medicine.
CINAHL Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) covering literature on allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, nursing and more.
Human Kinetics Library Books and videos for both practitioners and scholarly study in dance, exercise, fitness, health, motor behavior, nutrition, physical activity, and sport management. Includes Human Kinetics Dance Technique module.
Breathe! Green Spaces around Syracuse
Health Resources from MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus - from the National Library of Medicine, part of the National Institutes of Health
Stabler Running Collection