Military Visual Journalism - Reading & Study Skills (Summer 2025)

Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads  (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)

Extensive collection of contemporary and historical photos, news stories, audio clips and print graphics produced by Associated Press journalists.

Art, architecture, and archaeology images including images from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.

Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.

Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.

New York state newspapers, including Syracuse newspapers, such as the Post Standard, Syracuse Herald, and more. Some of that content dates from the late 1700s.

Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for Fox News. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name). Syracuse University Libraries is a sponsoring institution of the Television News Archive.

News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.

Post-Standard newspaper, Syracuse, New York (1986 - present), Syracuse Herald-American and Syracuse Herald-Journal (1986-2001).

Journals, books, and images covering fine arts, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design.

Books, reference, and museum object images for the scholarly study of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. Includes the Encyclopedia of Design, Encyclopedia of East Asian Design, and exhibition archives from the Museum of Craft and Design, San Francisco.

Index and abstracts to articles, essays, reviews, and more covering modern and contemporary art from the 19th century to the present.

One simultaneous user only.
Articles, interviews, reviews, yearbooks and museum publications, from 1929-1984.

Images, videos, reference, biographies, and peer reviewed articles for research in international fashion and dress and fashion as performance art. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, the Valerie Steele Core Collection of fashion photographs, and videos from the YOOX-NET-A-PORTER Runway Archive Collections 1979 to 2003. Contains the modules Berg Fashion Library, Fashion Photography Archive, Fashion Video Archive, and Historic Dress in Detail.

Archival collection of writing about Indian art from 1900 to present. Includes images and articles about art history, cinema, lens based practices, and photography directory.

Index to journals covering industrial design, architecture, interior design, graphic design, advertising, and more.

Collection of digitized historic art texts and resources, a project of the Getty Research Institute with contributions from numerous libraries and collections worldwide. Includes auction catalogs, rare books, images, photographs and more.

14 simultaneous users only.
The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols) covering both Western and non-Western art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition).

Index of art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century, (1840-1907), covering artists, illustrators, painting, sculpture, architecture photography and more, and including illustrations, poems, advertisements and other content.

Bibliography of scholarship on European art, American art and global art, covering visual arts, decorative and applied arts, museum studies, conservation, archaeology and more.

**This resource requires creating an individual account using your @syr.edu address and creation of password (do not use your NetID login/password) in order to download content.**
Fashion trends forecasts and reports, industry coverage and tools for designers.

Access note: Two simultaneous users only.
Daily fashion industry news. Covers business, fashion trends, retail, and markets.

Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.

Search across EBSCO hosted databases, covering journal literature, ebooks, images, archival collections, numerous subjects and formats, across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.

Index to magazines and journals on a wide range of topics, from 1890-1982, originally published as the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature.

Finding aid for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.

Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.

Index to journals and magazines covering cinematography, television, production, reviews and more.

Journals published by Sage in numerous disciplines, including health, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).

Journals covering humanities, behavioral sciences, business, economics, education, engineering, the environment, language, literature, physical sciences, politics/international relations, social sciences, and more.

Users are required to authenticate with their Syracuse University account, email address and password.

Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, includes Scopus AI.

Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.

Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.

Streaming videos, including documentaries, newsreels and programs, interviews, and performances, on a wide range of subjects from providers such as CBS, Universal, and The Open University.

To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.

Streaming video titles, including feature films, on a variety of subjects, historic and current, from a number of production companies.

Selected titles from the Docuseek collection.

Peer-reviewed journal of scientific work published in video format, allowing for visual demonstration of techniques and procedures.