Books in the Humanities

Author’s Website – Lois Agnew
Agnew illustrates how the tension between the need to acknowledge the real danger of cancer and the American insistence upon confidence and control lies at the heart of cancer rhetoric.

Editor’s Website – Apple An
This collection of essays recounts a range of life’s journeys and lessons: childhood memories, life-changing events, love and relationships, childbirth and parenthood, balancing family and career, adapting to new environments or cultures, coping with losses of loved ones, and spirituality.

Author’s Website – Apple An
An's novel focuses on a determined woman's personal and professional struggles in a story that weaves together the history and the complex culture of revolutionary China.

Editor’s Website – Amanda Brown
This book explores the significant role of multimodality in second language contexts, emphasizing that bodily actions are integral to language teaching, learning, and interaction.

Editor’s Website – Maria T. Brown
Editor’s Website - Merril Silverstein
This volume brings together scholars of religious studies, secularism, and family science to examine how religion is passed down, providing a nuanced view of the role that societal context plays in religious transitions and transformations.

Author’s Website – Kevin Adonis Browne
The author blends literary, visual, and material forms to present a narrative of Caribbean blackness, unable to be told through words alone. Browne interweaves essays, memoir, autotheory, and narrative verse with documentary photography, portraiture, Rorschach blots, and images of his own sculptures and art installations.

Author’s Website – Christopher Brunt
In his debut collection, Brunt deploys a restlessly inventive array of forms and voices, from the philosophical to the feverishly surreal. Profane, ecstatic, vulnerable, and fluent in as many literary registers as there are angles in a mirrored room, WAR AT HOME is autobiography written in myth.

Author’s Website – Joan Bryant
Bryant spotlights legal, political, religious, social, and scientific practices that configured human difference, sameness, hierarchy, and consciousness to show how a diverse set of actions constituted a multi-faceted American phenomena dubbed "race."

Editor’s Website – Dympna Callaghan
Four years on from George Floyd’s murder, this volume asks if and how Shakespeare might be relevant—whether in performance, in the classroom, or in scholarship—to the pressing issues of social and climate justice.

Author’s Website – Renate L. Chancellor
Chancellor tells the story of Clara Stanton Jones, the first woman and African American to direct a major public library system in the United States, resulting in a public backlash against her hiring. Despite it all, Jones rose to the top of her field, becoming one of the most transformative figures in her profession.

Author’s Website – Steven Cohan
Cohan explores Audrey Hepburn's significance as an icon through her films.

Author’s Website – Christopher DeCorse
DeCorse explores ways in which archaeology and popular culture intertwine and how fabricated or exaggerated depictions of archaeology shape public understanding, further political agendas, and impact the management of cultural resources.

Editor’s Website – P.J. DiPietro
This volume establishes trans philosophy as a unique field of inquiry, offering tools for our quest toward a more just and equitable world.

Author’s Website – Chiara Faggella
Faggella examines the history of the Italian fashion industry during the global transition brought about by the Second World War.

Author’s Website – Nicole Fonger
Meaningful algebra learning remains out of reach for too many learners. Fonger takes a highly-visual approach to make connections between research in algebra education, teaching algebra, and leading ambitious, equitable, antiracist visions for algebra education.

Editor’s Website – Selina Gallo-Cruz
Gallo-Cruz carefully curates a selection of texts originally published from the 1970s to the 2000s, which document dynamic feminist thinking on the root causes of violence, patriarchal institutions and relationships, and the many insights that nonviolence can gain from a feminist perspective.

Author's Website – Selina Gallo-Cruz
This book explores the globalization of nonviolence as a repertoire, as an international movement of movements.

Editor’s Website – Jules Gibbs
Editor’s Website – Teresita Paniagua
Five poets examine our world through lenses of disruption, displacement, and transience, as well as a longing to restore what sustains us — homeland, family, language, song, food, community, culture.

Author’s Website – Joseph Godlewski
eBook
Godlewski challenges linear assumptions about agency, progress, and domination in colonial and postcolonial cities, adding an important sub-Saharan case study to existing scholarship on globalization and modernity.

Editor’s Website – Christopher Green
A rich tradition of excellence in Ghanaian linguistics and languages studies has expanded by leaps and bounds in recent years, thanks to increased interest around the globe, as well as in Ghana itself. The papers in this volume reflect the vast reach of this research trajectory.

Editor’s Website – Shaina Holmes
This book provides independent filmmakers and VFX artists with tools to work collaboratively and effectively on low-budget films. Testimonials from indie filmmakers provide real-world scenarios for the techniques described.

Author’s Website – Azra Hromadzic
The book examines how the language and promises of green transition often mask the forces of capitalist accumulation that drive this change—whether in the form of building hydroelectric dams or promoting eco-tourism—and thus set in motion another cycle of environmental degradation, social dispossession, and economic exploitation.

Author’s Website – Mariaelena Huambachano
Based on over ten years of fieldwork in Peru and Aotearoa New Zealand, Huambachano’s work explores how Quechua and Māori peoples describe, define, and enact well-being through the lens of foodways.

Author’s Website – Jenn M. Jackson
A love letter to those who have been minimized and forgotten, this collection repositions Black women’s intellectual and political work at the center of today’s liberation movements.

Author’s Website – Sam Johnson
Johnson studies Russian Jewish painter, graphic designer, and architect El Lissitzky, focusing on the utopian dimension of his works on paper, in portfolios used to disseminate abstract paintings (radical for that moment), and in his unbuilt architecture.

Author’s Website – John M. Jordan
The meteoric rise of online video is reshaping the competition for human attention. Jordan argues that this new technology has changed the way we interact with others, our relationships with public institutions, and our very own behaviors and psyches.

Author’s Website – Christopher Kennedy
An exploration of memory, mourning, and humanity’s precarious relationship to the Anthropocene, Kennedy’s book documents our fragile relationship with time and the imperfect ways in which we document our lives.

Author’s Website – Osamah F. Khalil
Khalil traces an interrelationship among the U.S. government’s wars on crime, drugs, and terror over the last six decades. Drawing on case studies from Southeast Asia to South America, Khalil examines overt and covert U.S. involvement in Global South countries, post-Vietnam War notions of American primacy and decline, and the influence of domestic politics on foreign policy.

Illustrator’s Website – London Ladd
An illustrated picture book biography of a civil rights hero honors and celebrates the remarkable life of Myrlie Evers-Williams.

Illustrator’s Website – London Ladd
Celebrate the uniqueness and beauty of Black hair in this poetic picture book that journeys through time, from stunning debut author Maisha Oso and NAACP Image Award nominee artist London Ladd of Black Gold.

Author’s Website – Shannon Monnat
Co-authors confront common myths and misunderstandings about rural people and places, examining how social, economic, and demographic changes pose both problems and opportunities for these communities.

Author’s Website – Wendy K. Moy
eBook
Through a collection of extensive interviews with choral conductcors, educators, singers, and professional leaders, Moy's book documents the choral music community's journey through crisis and change during the COVID-19 pandemic and aids in its rebuilding in a new era.

Author’s Website – Jonathan K. Nelson
This work represents the first systematic study of the risks borne by those who produced, commissioned, and purchased art across Renaissance Europe. It employs a new methodology, built around concepts from risk analysis and decision theory.

Author’s Website – Emily Goldstein Nolan
This book provides a narrative exploration of community art therapy woven from its rich practice roots, theory, the multiple ways that it can be applied in practice, and through artisans' reflections.

Editor’s Website – David C. Oh
Korean media has exploded in popularity across the globe in the past decade, an influence extending to Korean food, cosmetics, and fashion. Exploring how fans from different cultural and racial backgrounds engage with Korean media, this edited collection reveals complex transcultural affinities, conflicts, and negotiations.

Editor’s Website – Teresita Paniagua
Editor’s Website – Sandy Siquier
Participants engaged with SU scholars and guest artists in community dialogues, documenting their thoughts in writing and art-making workshops, with their reflections edited and translated to English for this bilingual publication.

Author’s Website – Glenn Peers
Peers invites readers into a world replete with images—icons, frescoes, and mosaics filling places of worship, politics, and community. The work encourages readers to think themselves into a world where representation reigned and humans followed, and indeed, were formed.

Editor’s Website – Srividya Ramasubramanian
More than forty leading scholars present a state-of-the-art systematic overview of media and social justice, exploring intersecting identities, social structures, and power networks within media ownership, representation, selection, uses, effects, networks, and social transformation.

Author’s Website – Dennis Romano
Romano offers a comprehensive account of the political, economic, cultural, ecological, military, and art history of Venice from the city’s origins to the present. The book traces a long range of Venetian history and, in addition to covering elites like merchants and doges, the book offers portraits of Venetian commoners, drawing from documents such as diaries and last wills and testaments.

Editor’s Website – David Sobel
eBook
Political philosophy intersects with jurisprudence, normative economics, political theory in political science departments, and just war theory. This volume collects the best contemporary work in political philosophy and these closely related subfields.

Author’s Website – Jeffrey Stonecash
The Republican Party has changed dramatically since the 1940s and '50s. Stonecash sheds light on the decisions that party leaders have made to attract voters, the essence of today's party, and what this all means in terms of the current political climate.

Author’s Website – Brian Taylor
Taylor provides a guide to understanding Russian politics that goes beyond the headlines, offering a vivid account of the key forces driving Russian politics. It places Russia in a global context while explaining its internal political development.

Author’s Website – Robert Terrell
While the connection between beer and modern Germany seems self-evident, this book reveals how it was produced through a strange brew of regional commercial and political pressures. Weaving together subjects ranging from tax law to advertising, public health to European integration, and agriculture to global stereotypes, Terrell argues that the economic, regulatory, and cultural weight of Bavaria shaped the German nation in profound ways.

Author’s Website – George Theoharis
Responding to the current context of national resistance to issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion, this timely book portrays how real school leaders seek, create, and sustain equitable schools, especially for marginalized students.

Author’s Website – Susan Thomas
Thomas gives us a critical ethnography examining the nexus of migration, debt, and global education within the post-9/11, neoliberal landscape.

Author’s Website – Lyndsey Kelly Weiner
Weiner creates a chapbook of 25 original poems.