Books in the Humanities

This biography comprehensively and accessibly maps out Cohen's intellectual development over seven decades.

Author Website - Frederick Beiser - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

This book argues that, in the market for expert opinion, we need real competition in which rival experts may have different opinions and new experts are free to enter.

Author Website - Roger Koppl - Whitman School of Management, Syracuse University

Print edtion

This book theorizes about and models methodologies for the study of contemplative practices.

Editor Website - Diane Grimes - Syracuse University College of Visual and Performing Arts

This book examines a unique parchment combining images, prayers, and the Abgar legend in Greek from Trebizond, with designs and prayers in Arabic from the Middle East.

Author Website - Glenn Peers - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

The book asks 15 people from the Syracuse area about their encounters with beauty.

Author Website - Harvey Teres - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Works by nine authors explore the role of sensation in the production and use of religious texts.

Editor Website - James W. Watts - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

This book seeks resources for thinking ecologically in ancient Christian cosmology, saints' lives, art, architecture, liturgy.

Author Website - Virginia Burrus - Religion - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Print edtion

How does one account for the zoological imagination found in a variety of ancient Christian texts when early theology posited a strict division between animals and humans?

Author Website - Patricia Cox Miller - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Interviews with more than 50 people shape this story about family estrangement.

Author Website - Harriet Brown - Newhouse School, Syracuse University

Author illustrates how the mentality of Putin and his team - the code of Putinism - has shaped Russian politics over the past two decades.

Author Website - Brian D. Taylor - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

Print edtion

Scholars from many disciplines tackle subjects ranging from the economy, conflict, nationalism and politics to religion, development, sexuality, and the African youth experience.

Editor Website - Martin S. Shanguhyia - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

Online Edition

Contributors explore community formation,
multiculturalism, civil rights, black empowerment, artistic liberation and identity, and U.S. West scholarship.

Editor Website - Herbert G. Ruffin II - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Print edtion

Preserving, pausing, rewinding, replaying, reactivating… has the ability to manipulate video games temporality altered our cultural conceptions of time?

Author Website - Chris Hanson - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Successful entrepreneurs’ stories show how knowledge, passion, and creativity challenge conventional business school advice.

Author Website - Carl J. Schramm - Syracuse University School of Information Studies

Whether conflict and collaboration can be good, bad, or even benign are determined by the role of power, design of the process, skills and intent of the actors, social contexts, and world views.

Editor Website - Catherine Gerard - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

Editor Website - Louis Kriesberg - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

This text highlights the balance required between the values and demands of public relations and society as a whole.

Author Website - Regina Luttrell - Newhouse School, Syracuse University

This book looks critically at the destructive nature of inclusion politics which assumes that in order for us to thrive collectively, our differences must be tamed, sanitized, and harmonized.

Author Website - Amardo Rodriguez - Syracuse University College of Visual and Performing Arts

Print edtion

Kutcher explores the lives and works of eunuchs in seventeenth- and eighteenth-century China.

Author Website - Norman Kutcher - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

Print edtion

This volume investigates what it means to care at a distance and to age abroad, and its impact on relationships, spirituality, the economy, and more.

Editor Website - Azra Hromadžić - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

Print edtion

Stories of women of color from the Global South illuminate cross-generational histories of feminist activism across national borders, to imagine what a just world might look like.

Editor Website - Chandra Talpade Mohanty - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Editor Website - Linda Carty - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Print edtion

Koch considers both “spectacular” and “unspectacular” projects shaping state-society relations. The contrasting views of those from the poorest regions toward these new national capitals provide a geographic approach to spectacle.

Author Website - Natalie Koch - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

Print edtion

Berry analyzes the teaching of college writing in U.S. prisons, a racialized space that—despite housing more than 2 million people—remains nearly invisible to the general public.

Author Website - Patrick W. Berry - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Cohen explores the idea of time within democratic theory and practice, including how political procedures use quantities of time to confer and deny citizenship rights.

Author Website - Elizabeth F. Cohen - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

An essential resource for anyone working at the intersection of philosophy, political science, and jurisprudence.

Editor Website - David Sobel - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Print edtion

Cloud argues for a rhetorical realism… the idea that communicators can bring knowledge from various perspectives into the domain of common sense.

Print edtion

Stonecash challenges the empirical claim that incumbents are doing better and the research paradigm that accompanies those claims.

Editor Website - Jeffrey M. Stonecash - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

Print edtion

This data-driven look at post-revolutionary Iran includes coverage of 36 national elections, hundreds of legal and outlawed political organizations, and family ties among the elite.

Many who dream of athletic stardom won't make it to the pros, though the discipline and skills of balancing sport and academics prepare them for satisfying careers elsewhere.

Author Website - Rick Burton - Falk College, Syracuse University

A comprehensive and compelling history of Syracuse University during the years of Kenneth 'Buzz' Shaw's chancellorship, 1991-2004.

This volume provides a holistic exploration of the history of architectural discourse.

Editor Website - Joseph Godlewski - Syracuse University School of Architecture

This volume presents a collection of sixteen speculative design mediums by emerging architects.

Editor Website - Kelly Bair - Syracuse University School of Architecture

Editor Website - Kristy Balliet - Syracuse University School of Architecture

Editor Website - Kyle Miller - Syracuse University School of Architecture

Author examines the life and career of a 20th century Japanese immigrant artist.

Author Website - David L. Prince - Syracuse University Art Galleries

Print edtion

Franits follows the four-year sojourn of a famous Dutch painter in London.

Author Website - Wayne Franits - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

This work honors the significant and lasting contribution that gatekeeping theorist Pamela J. Shoemaker (SU/Newhouse) has made to mass communications research.

Editor Website - Carol Liebler - Newhouse School, Syracuse University

Print edtion

Contributors explore connections between circulation and public rhetorics, urban studies, feminist rhetorics, digital communication, new materialism, and digital research.

Editor Website - Collin Gifford Brooke - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Print edtion

This monograph addresses a broad range of research in syntax and language acquisition.

Author Website - Emma Ticio Quesada - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Wiener presents a feminist, Jewish, crip, queer, gender-bending mad adventure with an interlocutor through the ages.

Print edtion

Arras looks at the most popular American television shows of the nineties—a decade at the last gasp of network television’s cultural dominance.

Exploration on how supernatural elements entered into early cinema and their relationship to American national identity.

Author Website - Kendall Phillips - Syracuse University School of Visual and Performing Arts

Print edtion

Cohan looks at backstudios’ fascination with the mystique of Hollywood as a geographic place, a self-contained industry, a fantasy of fame, leisure, sexual freedom, and modernity.

Author Website - Steven Cohan - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Online Edition

Print edtion

Fresh readings of major modernist obscenity trials (e.g., James Joyce, D. H. Lawrence, Radclyffe Hall) reveal the ways 20th century obscenity was shaped by changes in media.

Author Website - Chris Forster - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Print edtion

This first major study of the Dominican-born bilingual American poet and translator traces Espaillat's early success through her return to the literary spotlight decades later.

Author Website - Silvio Torres-Saillant - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Karr returns with a collection of bracing poems as visceral, deeply felt, and hilarious as her memoirs.

Author Website - Mary Karr - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

A blind poet shares his story of how a guide dog changed his life and helped him discover a newfound appreciation for travel and independence.

Author Website - Stephen Kuusisto

Author tracks expanding and shrinking distances between siblings over the years surrounding a grandparent's death.

Author Website - Rainie Oet

The centerpiece of this poetry collection is a lyrical essay recalling the poet’s time working at the Federal Penitentiary at Lewisburg in the 1960s.

Author Website - Bruce Smith - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Short stories explore themes surrounding black identity as it relates to a range of contemporary social issues.

Author Website - Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Print edtion

This collection of poetry looks to animals and their instincts for inspiration for transcending grief and depression by seeking humanity's place in the natural world.

Author Website - Christopher Kennedy - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Poetry and short prose in English and German ranges from angry, elevating, funny, paradox, sad, sarcastic, thoughtful.

Author Website - Mona Eikel-Pohen - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences

Many soldiers returned from the Civil War with damaged bodies and minds. Drawing on archival records for thousands of Union army recruits, the authors uncover the diversity and severity of the veterans' psychological distress.

Author Website - Larry Logue - Burton Blatt Institute, Syracuse University

Author Website - Peter Blanck - Burton Blatt Institute, Syracuse University

Fotostiftung Schweiz commissioned Lavalette to photograph a dozen Swiss towns to create a portrait of the country.

Author Website - Shane Lavalette

Contributors look beyond the defensive architecture, physical landscapes, and armed conflicts to explore the complex social diversity that arose in the outposts of the British Empire.

Editor Website - Christopher DeCorse - Maxwell School, Syracuse University

The book examines the prolific rhetoric of President Andrew Jackson during his campaigns and his two terms in office.

Textbook for journalists provides fundamental instruction in all aspects of standard English to improve composition.

The latest edition of this annual Point of Contact Gallery series includes original work by Safia Elhillo, Rohan Chhetri, Jessica Scicchitano, José Sanjinés, and Noel Quiñones.

This book is a translation of some well-known poems in English into a certain Classical Chinese poetic form.

Author Website - Lanjing Zhou - Syracuse University College of Arts & Sciences