Research Guides: ADV 523: Digital Branding and Strategy (Spring 2022): Home

Librarian for the Newhouse School of Public Communications

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Bird Library -
(2nd Floor) Room 200
Use the "schedule online" link to book a research consultation, or contact me via email or phone to arrange a timeslot outside of those listed consultation hours

315-443-3715

Subjects: Advertising, Communication, Journalism, Public Relations, Television, Radio, and Film, Video

Meet Your Librarian! - Michael Pasqualoni

Contagious Magazine

Contagious Online access to the full run of Contagious Magazine (2004 thru present), including embedded images and video

Adspender User Manual

Adspender User Manual (PDF)
-Adspender is not compatible with the Safari browser

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.), visit SU Libraries Citation Support website, or want access to full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "Mendeley" or 'Zotero?" Visit SU Libraries site for Citation Management.

Specific Citation Formatting Examples
Examples of citation formatting helpful when referring to data pulled from various specialized databases in business and advertising research.

Welcome

SU Libraries offers numerous research tools and information sources to assist you when investigating advertising in the ADV 523 course. Explore the linked sections of this guide for leading examples of these tools. [course sections for Spring 2022 being taught by faculty members Brian Sheehan, Daniela Molta, and Mindy Stockfield]

Advertising Database BEST BETS

Users of MRI University Reporter database: The consumer survey data in that MRI interface has migrated into the Simmons Insights database platform, and folded into the search feature within Simmons called "Brand Catalyst.." MRI-Simmons is discontinuing that older University Reporter platform, which access at Syracuse University ended as of June 30, 2021. Contact Newhouse Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni [mjpasqua@syr.edu || (315) 443-3715] with any related questions about those databases.

Adforum
Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)

WARC
Case studies of advertising, marketing communications and branding. Includes video of advertising campaigns.

Mintel Reports
Research reports covering consumer behavior and analysis of United States markets.

Simmons Insights
50 simultaneous users. Consumer survey data for U.S. individuals and households, yielding cross-tabulated brand and product category preferences, demographic and psychographic data, and trends for use of digital and traditional media. Includes access to Brand Catalyst, a visualization platform for creating consumer personas that compare and predict these preferences.

J. Walter Thomson Advertising America
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.

SRDS Media Solutions
Directories for television and radio broadcasting, digital media, print newspapers and magazines, place-based and outdoor media. Also includes local market audience, programmatic media planning, and digital network information.

Communication Source
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.

Advertising Age
Login required. Content from Advertising Age, including articles, videos, and podcasts.

ASRC Online Archives- Case Reports
Cases related to advertising issues and claims. SU students or faculty wanting access for a specific case(s) can contact Public Communications Librarian, Michael Pasqualoni, mjpasqua@syr.edu (315) 443-3715.

SimplyAnalytics

SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.

Terminology and General Principles

Advertising Media A-to-Z by Jim Surmanek
Call Number: HF5826.5 .S848 2004 - Bird Library - 4th Floor
ISBN: 0071422145
Publication Date: 2003-11-07
Dictionary of Advertising and Marketing Concepts by Arthur Asa Berger; Fred S. Goldberg (Foreword by)
Call Number: Available via Internet
ISBN: 9781611329858
Publication Date: 2013-08-31

Kanopy - Video Collection

Kanopy
One of the largest academic streaming video collections in the market, containing tens of thousands of educational titles, and also U.S. and international feature films. Kanopy partners with over 800 producers, including the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, PBS, BBC, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation and more. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. Advertising students can click the "browse subjects" menu to explore titles available under the category "media & communications."

eMarketer

Insider Intelligence eMarketer
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology, and more. Includes content from both eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence.

eMarketer is a repository of data and discussion about digital marketing, media and ecommerce. Covers information environments and technologies that some traditional industry and market research databases overlook, with a focus that includes mobile computing, online advertising, tablets, smartphones, mobile payments and more. The eMarketer database curates a large collection of presentation friendly data visualizations, which draw upon thousands of published industry sources and leadership interviews. Concise, single topic summary reports are included to assist with the development of media strategies, budgeting and other data driven presentations and analysis. Digital market data for numerous countries are represented, with over 10,000 new data charts added each year. Download options include Excel, PowerPoint, JPG and PDF.

TVB

Television Bureau of Advertising
Non profit trade association for the U.S. broadcasting industry.

4As Agency Search

4As ("American Association of Advertising Agencies") - Ad Agency Search Engine

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to a full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "Zotero" or "Mendeley," Visit SU Library's Citation Support website.

Job Leads

Media Directories and Career Research via SU Libraries (for Newhouse students)
A list of media directories and other possible starting points for Newhouse students when career planning or researching industries, companies or job markets.

This PDF document lists media directories and other sources that may help any Newhouse student looking to explore leads for career planning purposes and related industry research into companies and job markets. Be sure to also visit Newhouse's Tina Press and David Rubin Career Development Center.