Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Collection Development & Resource Feedback

Collection Development & Review Process

Collection development and analysis librarians work with subject librarians to build responsive and quality collections for our campus. As the University’s teaching, creative, and research activities change, and as new resources are added, some currently held resources may no longer be as critical as they once were. Regular resource reviews allow the Libraries to monitor these changes, make strategic cancelations where appropriate, reallocate funding for new resources, and cover the rising annual cost increase of resources being retained. Reviewing collections represents responsible spending of University resources, and it allows us to better respond to the changing needs of the University.

When reviewing resources, collection development and analysis librarians collect usage statistics, evaluate content overlap with similar resources, and consult with subject librarians and information desk staff for feedback. Subject librarians also reach out to faculty for further input. The Libraries welcome feedback, which improves the understanding of how specific resources support teaching, research, and creative work.

If the Libraries determine a database will be discontinued, a notice will be placed in the A-Z database menu. A full list of discontinued resources is available at Recently Discontinued Resources & Cancelled Subscriptions. Subject librarians are available to consult with users about alternative resources and alternative access to cancelled content through the Libraries' interlibrary loan services

Which Resources Are Reviewed?

Resources that support all subjects and disciplines are periodically reviewed by the Libraries. These can include databases, journals, newspapers, book series, and select e-book or streaming video packages, all of which are leased or have annual subscription payments. Resources with perpetual access do not need review, as the Libraries purchased full ownership of them. These can include select e-book collections, digital archival material, and back issues of select electronic journals.

Assessing Collections Value

Libraries’ staff use a number of criteria, both quantitative and qualitative, to evaluate collections and their benefits to the SU community. 
These criteria include:

  • Relevance to SU curriculum
  • Relevance to research and creative work at SU
  • Feedback from users
  • Duplication or overlap with other databases and full text sources
  • Usage statistics, which may include number of times a resource was used, what content was used, which resources were clicked on most frequently from our site, and more
  • Platform usability issues such as accessibility, navigation, and resource downtime
  • Overall cost, cost-per-use, as well as renewal increase cost per year
  • Contribution to diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives 

Recently Discontinued Resources & Cancelled Subscriptions

The following resources were reviewed and discontinued from the Libraries' collections. This list will be updated periodically, as the collection development process includes ongoing, routine review of how we are investing our collections funds.

Feedback

For questions about a particular resource, or to share feedback on how you benefit from something within the Libraries’ collections, please contact your subject librarian or use the Give Collections Feedback form. For questions about the review process, please contact Anne Rauh, Head of Collections and Research Services, at aerauh@syr.edu.