. - Open Resources in Education - Focus on Africa - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

Databases

ERIC - Education Resource Information Center
ERIC is one of the foremost databases for Education Research.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) online system provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. The ERIC thesaurus is helpful for finding subject terms used in the database.
Google Scholar
To set up full-text links: Click on Settings and then click on Library Links. Search for the university for which you have an affiliation, e.g. Kenyatta
WorldCat
WorldCat is an authoritative database primarily of published books. Access to full-text is NOT provided. Use your university library or InterLibrary Loan to obtain copies of books.

Open Access Journals - Searchable Collections of Research in Africa

African Journals Archive - AJA
The African Journal Archive (AJA) is a Sabinet Gateway project in conjunction with the Carnegie Corporation that is making African research accessible to the whole world. The archive includes searchable collections of full-text journal articles that have been digitized back to the earliest issues, a valuable resource for local and international libraries. Subject areas include the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
African Journals Online - AJOL
ACCESS NOTE: Free registration required.
Index of African-published journals covering the sciences, health, education, and the social sciences. Includes table of contents, abstracts, and links to online full-text where available.
AfricaBib
AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research.

Research4Life

Research4Life provides developing countries with free or low cost access to academic and professional peer-reviewed content online. Kenyatta University is one of the eligible institutions. Research4Life provides:

Online access to over 8100 peer-reviewed international scientific journals, books, and databases
Full-text articles which can be downloaded for saving, printing or reading on screen
Searching by keyword, subject, author or language
Resources available in several languages
Training in information literacy and promotional support

Research4Life includes – OARE and ARDI.

Dissertations and Theses

Open Access Theses andDissertations
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,989,401 theses and dissertations.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools will store your references and article, create bibliographies instantly, and may be used with Word or Open/Libre Office to format your papers. The tools below are freely available.

Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Research Repositories

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The comprehensive database of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
American Educational Research Association (AERA) Online Paper Repository
AERA Online Paper Repository is an open access clearinghouse, with abstracts, of all scientific presentations given at AERA annual meetings since 2010. More than half include full-text papers voluntarily contributed to the repository by annual meeting presenters.
You do NOT have to be a member to access the full text articles; however, you do need to register.
Open Knowledge Repository - World Bank
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
Eldis
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
ROAD: Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Useful for finding open access journals and their content.
How to use: Add title or subject words to search box. The results may be narrowed down using the features in the left column. Select a title. In the the new window, click on the URL in the top box in the right column to view articles from this journal.
re3data.org
Explore a global registry of data repositories by subject, content type, or country.
SHARE
SHARE is an interdisciplinary science and social sciences initiative. Its aim is to make research widely “accessible, discoverable, and reusable” by sharing research activity across its life cycle and to encourage collaboration and discovery. Creative works include, but are not limited to data sets, software, as well as more traditional works, such as preprints, published articles, dissertation and theses, all freely available.
Using the Advanced Search will allow you to search and filter your results by type of output.

Open Resources in Education - Focus on Africa: .

What This Guide Contains