What was it like to be a student at Syracuse in 1992? On campus, students would have seen the groundbreaking of Melvin A. Eggers Hall and watched the Syracuse Men's Basketball team win the Big East Tournament. Beyond campus, Bill Clinton was elected as the nation's 42nd president, riots broke out in Los Angeles protesting racial violence and police brutality, and at the movie theater, films like Aladdin, Batman Returns, and Sister Act dominated the box office. Globally, it was also a significant year-- 1992 was declared "International Space Year," as countries around the world promoted space exploration and technology. The Summer Olympics were hosted in Barcelona and the Winter Olympics were hosted in Albertville, marking the last time the summer and winter games were held in the same year. In Somalia, a civil war and severe drought led to a famine and eventual US military involvement in the country. At the beginning of a decade that saw numerous important developments across art, politics, and technology, the events and culture of 1992 continue to shape our society today.
To learn more about life in 1992 and the rest of the 90s, click through the tabs on this research guide to explore resources available at Syracuse University Libraries and visit the exhibit at Bird Library starting October 25th.
Syracuse University. Volume 6, The Shaw Years by
This sixth in a series of volumes on Syracuse University's history focuses on the leadership of Chancellor Kenneth "Buzz" Shaw (1991-2004), who undertook the most comprehensive strategic overhaul of the institution since its founding in 1870. With a compelling narrative and fresh analysis, Tobin examines Shaw's thirteen-year tenure, his administrative style, and many of the issues the university faced as it transitioned into the twenty-first century: the diversification of its student body and faculty, women in sports, competitive pressure on its intercollegiate teams, and the relevance of higher education in the modern world. Tobin describes how Shaw led the university through a risky and unconventional renewal, deliberately restraining enrollment growth to strengthen the university and making the Board of Trustees a stronger organization and fund-raising entity. After he stepped down as chancellor, Shaw and his wife, Mary Ann, continued their efforts to improve and shape Central New York in profound and lasting ways, all of which Tobin explores in this fascinating volume.
The Nineties in America by
This book features a sweeping view of the decade's impact on the United States and Canada. The Gulf War, dot-coms, impeachment, grunge, Y2K...""The Nineties in America"" examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students.Scope and coverage: This new three-volume set serves as a companion piece to the popular ""Decades"" series, which includes ""The Fifties in America"", ""The Sixties in America"", ""The Seventies in America"" and ""The Eighties in America"". It features important events, movements, people, and trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics, and politics in both the United States and Canada during the period of 1990-1999.Written with the needs of students and general readers in mind, ""The Nineties in America"" presents clear discussions of its topics. Entries fall into the following general categories: arts and literature, business and economics, crime and punishment, disasters, education, environmental issues, film and television, health and medical issues, international relations, journalism, military and war, politics and government, popular culture, popular music, religion and spirituality, science and technology, sexuality, social issues, sports, and transportation.Organization and format: Essays are one to six pages long and begin with a concise title followed by a brief description of the person, organization, work, concept, or event. Further headings attribute authorship, establish a date for the subject, and assign a location.Every essay features an 'Impact' section, which examines the subject's broader importance during the 1990's. Overviews often include a section called 'Subsequent Events' that sums up later developments. Cross-references at the end of each essay direct readers to additional entries in the encyclopedia on related subjects. Every entry offers bibliographical notes and an author byline.Special features: Volume 3 contains 16 appendixes that provide additional information about selected aspects of the decade - major films, Academy Award winners, major Broadway plays and theatrical awards, most-watched television shows, and Emmy Award winners; best-selling U. S. books and major literary awards; Grammy Award winners and notable facts about popular musicians; winners of major sports events; major U.S. Supreme Court decisions and important legislation; a glossary of new words and slang; a detailed time line; an annotated general bibliography; and an annotated list of Web sources on 1990's subjects.At a Glance: This title contains 3 volumes; 1,300 pages; 600 articles; sidebars/tables; 300 photographs;ready-reference top matter; cross-references; bibliography in every article; major legislation & court cases;awards in entertainment, literature, sports; time line; general bibliography; annotated list of Web Sites; glossary; category list; personages index; and, subject index.
Pop Goes the Decade: The Nineties by
Popular culture in the 1990s often primarily reflected millennial catastrophic anxieties. The world was tightening, speeding up, and becoming more dangerous and dangerously connected. Surely it was only a matter of time before it all came crashing down. Pop Goes the Decade: The Nineties explains the American 1990s for all readers. The book strives to be widely representative of 1990s culture, including the more obvious nostalgic versions of the decade as well as focused discussions of representations of minority populations during the decade that are often overlooked. This book covers a wide variety of topics to show the decade in its richness: music, television, film, literature, sports, technology, and more. It includes an introductory timeline and background section, followed by a lengthy "Exploring Popular Culture" section, and concludes with a brief series of essays further contextualizing the controversial and influential aspects of the decade. This organization allows readers both a wide exposure to the variety of experiences from the decade as well as a more focused approach to aspects of the 1990s that are still resonant today.
The 1990s by
The last decade of the millennium was, in many ways, the most diverse and fascinating in the history of American culture. Alternative subcultures gained unprecedented exposure, manifest in such phenomena as grunge music, "gansta" rap, hip-hop fashion, raves, extreme sports, and the art of Robert Mapplethorpe and Andres Serrano. Twelve narrative chapters depict the United States as brought to you by Generation X--a culture busting out in new and unforeseen ways.
Digital Decade: The 90s by
Newsmakers, world headlines, memorable people and events of the 1990s. From sheep cloning in Scotland to the death of Princess Diana, The Age of Freedom focuses on the decade's most notable national and world events, sports memories, entertainment, political and social topics, and the explosive growth of the internet.