Skip to main content

Native American Studies: Books

Library print collections

There are a number of different collections on the SU Campus that may be useful for your research in Native American Studies.  Also search the Libraries' catalog for specific clans, tribes, or nations such as Iroquois Indians, Navaho nation, etc.

  • Indians of North America
  • Indians of South America
  • Native Americans
  • anthropology
  • ethnology
  • other social sciences
  • maps
  • government documents

Reference books

Don't forget that all campus libraries have reference collections with scholarly encyclopedias, atlases, and other publications that may provide useful background information for your research.

A Native American encyclopedia : history, culture, and peoples  E76.2 .P75 1998 Bird, 3rd Floor

Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian E76.2 .R4 2000 REF

Archaeology of prehistoric native America : an encyclopedia  E77.9 .A72 1998 REF

The Encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition KF8204 .E53 1998 Law Lib. REF

Handbook of North American Indians E77 .H25 vols. 2-15, 17 Bird, REF

Handbook of South American Indians E51 .U6 no.143 vols. 1-2, Bird 3rd Floor

Electronic Reference Source:

Encyclopedia of Native American music of North America
  ML102.N37 K45 2013eb

Searching for Resources in the SU Libraries' Catalog

Summon is SU Library's search engine. Using Summon, you can search the Library website for books, videos, articles, as well as other resources.

Books in the SU Libraries collection on Native American Studies

Course reserves

Reserve books for Native American Studies are located on the first floor of the Bird Library. Online reserve materials can be accessed through the course Blackboard page