Research Guides: Library and Information Science: Sources for Finding Articles and More Content

Databases with LIS Content

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database Searchable information about fiction and nonfiction works for children of all ages.
Education Source Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.
Emerald Insight Journals covering library and information science, and management, as well as other subject areas.
ERIC (EBSCO) Index and abstracts of educational materials available since 1966. Indexes published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education).
Information Science Journals on library and information studies, including data processing, metadata architectures, information infrastructure, and publishing. Provided by NOVELNY.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts Index with abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, and proceedings. Dates of coverage: mid-1960 to present.
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text Coverage: English and foreign language periodicals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and theses. Index and abstract entries 1984 to present; select full text 1994 to present.
SAGE Knowledge Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
SAGE Research Methods Online Information about research methods and design; includes Sage Datasets and Sage Cases, and the qualitative and quantitative methods series, "Little Green Books" and “Little Blue Books.”
Scopus Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

To find databases in other subjects, go to this link and use the All Subjects drop-down menu.

LIS Journal List

SU LIbraries Journal Locator
to locate LIS journals: click Social Sciences, then Library & Information Science.

Google Scholar Linking to SU Articles

Google Scholar will link to our full text online articles even off-campus if you set up your Syracuse University affiliation in Google Scholar Settings. Follow the steps below.

NOTE: Setting up Google Scholar to link to our library holdings must be done when you are off-campus.

Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)
Click on in the upper left corner, then select Settings or
Click on Library Links in the left column.
Type Syracuse University in the Library Links search box.
Select Syracuse University, Syracuse University Libraries – Gale Full Text, and Open WorldCat.
Click Save.
Full text links will be found in the right column of a search results page. When no full-text link is given try clicking on the title and sometimes the full-text will be available.

Online Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, 4th ed. by John D. McDonald, Michael Levine-Clark The Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, now in its fourth edition, compiles the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and explores the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries. This major reference presents over 550 entries extensively reviewed for accuracy in seven print volumes or online. The new fourth edition, which includes 55 new entires and 60 revised entries, continues to reflect the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance.
Publication Date: 2018

Open Access Sources

American Library Directory: A classified list of libraries in the US and Canada
Canadian Journal of Information and Library Science The Canadian Journal of Information and Library Science (CJILS/RCSIB) is an open access, refereed, scholarly periodical published three times per year by Western Libraries, University of Western Ontario on behalf of the Canadian Association for Information Science. Established in 1976, the journal is recognized internationally for its authoritative bilingual contributions to library and information science research. The editorial policy of the journal is to continue the advancement of library and information science in both English and French in Canada by serving as a forum for discussion of theory and research.
Directory of Open Access Journals: Bibliography. Library science. Information resources DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
DLIST: Digital Library of Information Science and Technology
In the Library with the Lead Pipe In the Library with the Lead Pipe is an open access, open peer-reviewed journal founded and run by a team of librarians working in various types of libraries. In addition to publishing articles and editorials by Editorial Board members, Lead Pipe publishes articles by authors representing diverse perspectives including educators, administrators, library support staff, technologists, and community members.
Journal of Copyright in Education and Librarianship The Journal of Copyright in Education and Librarianship is bi-annually published in the spring and fall. It is a peer-reviewed open-access publication for original articles, reviews and case studies that analyze or describe the strategies, partnerships and impact of copyright law on public, school, academic, and digital libraries, archives, museums, and research institutions and their educational initiatives.
Marketing Libraries Journal Marketing Libraries Journal (MLJ) is a peer-reviewed, independently published, open access scholarly journal that focuses on innovative marketing activities libraries are engaged in.
Marketing Library Services Note: some articles are available online. Consult the print issues in the Libraries for full access.
Reading Room: A Journal of Special Collections
SURFACE SURFACE, the Syracuse University Research Facility and Collaborative Environment, is a full-text, multi media online database that provides open access to the extensive and diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific and creative output produced at Syracuse University.

Miscellaneous LIS Resources

American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Toolkits
Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) Toolkits
Black Excellence in LIS Syllabus/Reading List
CHOICE Reviews
CiteSeerX CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List
Glossary of Library Terminology
Instruction in Libraries and Information Centers: An Introduction Published through the Illinois Open Publishing Network at the University of Illinois, authored by Laura Saunders and Melissa A.Wong, and with a foreword by Lisa Hinchliffe, this book offers a comprehensive introduction to instruction in all types of library and information settings. The text takes a critical approach to pedagogy and emphasizes inclusive and accessible instruction throughout. Organized around the Backward Design approach and written by LIS faculty members with expertise in teaching and learning, this book offers clear guidance on writing learning outcomes, designing assessments, and choosing and implementing instructional strategies, framed by clear and accessible explanations of learning theories. Using a theory into practice approach that will move students from learning to praxis, each chapter includes practical examples, activities, and templates to aid readers in developing their own practice and materials.
MLIS Skills at Work: A Snapshot of Job Postings-Spring 2023 The San José State University School of Information’s MLIS Skills at Work report is an annual snapshot analysis of the latest career trends for information professionals. Data were collected between January and May 2021 through a survey of job duties and qualifications from 400 recent job postings for library and information science (LIS) professionals, sourced from both general and LIS-specific job search sites. The time frame of this snapshot view coincided with the on-going COVID-19 pandemic in the United States and around the world. This data reflects a period of ongoing changes as institutions and companies continue to reassess workflow and operations. In our analysis, we have identified trends that can help LIS professionals and students prepare themselves to engage in this market as either a job candidate or a hiring decision-maker. At the same time, we acknowledge that there is no way to predict the new reality as circumstances continue to develop and libraries and other institutions adapt in response.
SU Libraries Accessibility Services
The 2023 Rainbow Book List Composed of over 190 books for young readers from birth to age 18, the 2023 list represents an array of diverse stories and identities representing the LGBTQIA+ youth experience in books published from July 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022.