Research Guides: Music and Entertainment Industry: Trade Publications & Journals

New Resources

Musical America Worldwide
Job listings, news, and industry reports for the performing arts; plus an online directory of artists, managers, publishers, producers and more

Billboard Pro

This resource requires creating an individual account using your @syr.edu address and creation of password (DO NOT use your NetID login/password). Access to Billboard’s weekly charts, digital-first platform with interactive content, news, and expert commentary on the music business.

Search a database to find news, journal, and magazine articles on your topic.

Rock's Backpages Library
Archive of rock music writing, including articles and reviews, from the 1960's to the present, searchable by artist and genre.
Music Periodicals Database
Music, music business
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Popular music & entertainment industry; retrospective coverage late 19th century to 2000
ABI/INFORM Collection
business, management, news
Applied Science and Technology Full Text
audio engineering, electrical engineering, acoustical engineering
indexes the Journal of the Audio Engineering Society and the Journal of the Acoustical Society of America
Business Source Elite
Business, management, marketing, public relations
Communication Source
Communications, media, public relations, advertising
IEEE Xplore
Audio engineering
articles, conference proceedings, and standards from IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
Nexis Uni
Business, industry data, news, blogs, radio & TV transcripts, law

Down Beat (print only)
jazz, popular music
Electronic Musician
business, recording industry
Entertainment Weekly
Television, motion pictures, music
EQ
business, sound recording, computer music applications
Goldmine
Popular music, recording industry
International Musician
music business, labor unions
Live Sound International
theater audio
Mix
business, recording industry
Musical Merchandise Review
music business
Professional Sound
music business, audio engineering
Remix
music business, sound recording, pop culture
Rolling Stone
popular music, pop culture
Sound & Vision
audio recording
Spin
popular music, pop culture - most current issues - past issues also available, search in publications
Variety
Entertainment industry news - most of 1972 - present
Variety 1905-2000
This collection of Variety magazine covers 1905 to 2000.

EURASIP Journal on Audio, Speech, and Music Processing
Open access
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America
Journal of the Audio Engineering Society
also see print issues for 1953-2013, all indexed in Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Journal on the Art of Record Production
open access
MEIEA Journal
open access
"a refereed scholarly work published annually by the Music & Entertainment Industry Educators Association."