Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Databases

Watch for the SULinks icon

When searching our literature databases, this link will take you to the full-text of journal articles available online through our SU Library subscriptions.

Argentina

PLACA Photo Gallery page

Open Access Sources

SURFACE, the Syracuse University Research Facility And Collaborative Environment, is a full-text, multi-media online database that provides open access to the extensive and diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University.

Latin American Open Archives Portal
The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The aim of DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

Core and related databases for Latin American Studies

Use the Database tab in the red box on the  SU Libraries' web site and click on the "browse databases" link.  This will lead you to a page where the databases are arranged into broad subject areas. 

On that page, scroll down to the Social Sciences and click on the "Latin American Studies" link.  That will lead you to a list of the databases on Latin American Studies:

 

Chicano Database
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present.

Dialnet - Universidad de la Rioja
The main portal to a collection of thousands of Spanish-language online, full-text journals from all disciplines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.

HAPI Online
Bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, etc. appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world since 1970.

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
Evaluations of books and book chapters as well as conference papers and articles from more than 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies.

LANIC
Access to academic databases and information services through the Internet world.

Latin America Intelligence Service
Provides access to the full portfolio of Latin American Newsletter information resources along with a series of bespoke services...

Latino Literature
Contains approximately 48 plays and 13,000 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.

    Other Related Databases

    EIU: The Economist Intelligence Unit
    Objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment for almost 200 countries. Includes reports on certain strategic industries and on the latest management thinking.

    JSTOR
    Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

    MLA International Bibliography
    Index to critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.

    Project Muse
    Full-text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.

    Scopus
    Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database, with over 33 million records. Its coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature includes 15,000 peer-reviewed journals, 1,200 open-access journals, 500 conference proceedings, over 600 trade publications, and 200 book series. Scopus also covers 386 million quality web sources, including 22 million patents.

    Featured Latin American Database

    LANIC Latin American Network Information Center

    Allows access to academic databases and information services through the Internet world providing Latin Americanists with access to information on and from Latin America.

     

    You can find this and other Latin American Studies databases that Syracuse University Library subscribes to by clicking on the "Browse Databases" link on the databases tab in the red search box on the Library's web site.

    ASK US! Syracuse University Librarians

    Bonnie Ryan, Latin American Studies Subject Specialist
     

    For research assistance in areas related to Latin American Studies, contact one of our subject specialist librarians.

    African Diaspora, Anthropology, Sociology:
    Bonnie Ryan

    Geography & Maps:
    John Olson

    History:
    Lydia Wasylenko

    International Relations:
    Michael Pasqualoni

    Linguistics:
    Patrick Williams

    Spanish Language & Literature:
    Ann Skiold