Skip to main content

Goldring Art Journalism Program: Guide to Art & Art Criticism Resources: Articles/Databases

This guide supports the department of Art and Music Histories as well as providing library information on related programs.

Generate Keywords for Searching

Take a moment to think about your topic.

Define your topic by asking yourself a set of questions.

Turn your topic into a research question (a thesis topic).

Think of words and phrases to use in a search of information regarding your topic.

If nothing works, change your search terms to find more specific or more general information.

Remeber you can alsways ask for research help from a librarian.

Film Databases

Databases

 Art Full Text - Abstracts for journal articles in 400 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, and film reviews.

Art Retrospective - Bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index. It contains records for items in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer applications and graphics and more.

ARTBibliographies Modern - Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 13,000 new entries being added each year.

ARTstor - Index with abstracts to journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 13,000 new entries being added each year.                                                      

Grove Art Online (now Oxford Art Online) - Grove Art Online comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art

JSTOR - Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

Project Muse - Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

Design

Photography

Open Access Journal