Home - WRT 205 - Writing and the Arts (Spring 2021) - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

Accessing Kanopy

If you are unable to access a Kanopy title from a direct link, please click the link below to sign in again and search for the title for access.

Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen.

About this guide

This guide is a starting point for locating sources on a variety of Writing and the Arts topics for your work in WRT 205. These collections and resources are more focused than SUMMON, but you may find additional resources there.

Need Help? Ask Us!

Ask Us! Live Chat

Call Us: 315-443-4083

Text Us: 315-464-0744

Email us: libref@syr.edu

Find a librarian

Report an Electronic Resource Issue

Policy on Access to Licensed Web Resources

Suggest a Title

Popular Sources for Arts Writing

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles times under all its title variants from 1881 to 1998.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times
Full page scans from The New York Times newspaper with searchable article text back to the first issue in 1851. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within 3 to 4 years of the current date; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
Access to over 100 years of political reporting and other news within the first newspaper in Washington DC to publish seven days per week. Fully imaged page scans from 1877. Currency of this historical access is updated periodically and extends to within about 17 years of the current date.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Publications and popular magazines about the entertainment industry from the late 19th century to early 21st century in the United States and United Kingdom. Library access includes modules 1-5 covering music, radio, theater, film, television, and gaming.
Rock's Backpages Library
Archive of rock music writing, including articles and reviews, from the 1960's to the present, searchable by artist and genre.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular performing arts journals and magazines, conference papers, covering the arts and entertainment industry, dance, film, television, drama, theater, musical theater, storytelling, opera, puppetry, magic and more; includes interviews, discographies, and reviews.
WWD.com
Access note: Two simultaneous users only.
Daily fashion industry news. Covers business, fashion trends, retail, and markets.
Music Periodicals Database
Scholarly and popular articles about music, with coverage from 1874 to present.
RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (EBSCO)
Retrospective coverage of literature related to music history and culture from 1760 through the mid-1900s. Includes articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements and more.

Scholarly Sources for Arts Writing

Communication Source
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Index to journals covering industrial design, architecture, interior design, graphic design, advertising, and more.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) Abstracts of Music Literature providing comprehensive coverage of music-related literature and research published in journals, books, conference proceedings, and more.
Art and Architecture Source
Journals, books, and images covering fine arts, decorative and commercial art, architecture and architectural design.
Art Index Retrospective : 1929-1984
One simultaneous user only.
Articles, interviews, reviews, yearbooks and museum publications, from 1929-1984.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Index and abstracts to articles, essays, reviews, and more covering modern and contemporary art from the 19th century to the present.

Sources for Images You Can Use in Public Assignments

In order to make ethical use of images in your online work, it's best to choose images from sources for which permission has been granted for non-commercial uses. Below are some great resources for images in the public domain, available under creative commons licenses, and other acceptable licences.

Other Arts Resources

ARTstor
Art, architecture, and archaeology images including images from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access
HD videos of Metropolitan Opera performances, including telecasts from 1970 through 2000, and including radio broadcasts from 1936.
Victorian Popular Culture
Archival Victorian popular culture collections including content from the Senate House Library, University of London; The Harry Price Library of Magical Literature; Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas at Austin; The British Library; the British Film Institute National Archive and more.
Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.
Alexander Street Music and Performing Arts
Unified search interface for all music products from Alexander Street Press, including digital scores, streaming audio, and streaming video. Coverage spans Western classical, American popular, world music, folk, jazz, ethnographic recordings, ballet, modern dance, documentaries, and more. Collections searched include American Music, Classical Scores Library, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, and music and dance content from Academic Video Online.

WRT 205 - Writing and the Arts (Spring 2021): Home