Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
The links on this webpage are meant to help you to identify sources for Writing Assignment #3. It is not exhaustive, and depending on your topic and your argument, you might want to explore further. You can contact me (Patrick) if you have any questions about doing so or to get recommendations based on your interests.
Because the Libraries' buildings are closed, we are limited to our electronic resources (which are vast!), but there also may be some items we simply can't access or use. We also are not able to make use of Interlibrary Loan for physical materials. We must rely on materials that are available in electronic form and are in our collections first and foremost (we can assume that ILL processing will be slowed given library closures worldwide). Despite these limitations, please know that I am available to help you however I can. My contact information is below.
Humanities Subject Specialist
Finding Ebooks in the SUL Collections
You can use Summon to locate articles, book chapters, and books available electronically. Start from the Library homepage and enter your search terms. Then, on the search results page, filter by selecting "Full Text Online" under Refine Your Search. You may limit just to ebooks by also selecting "Book/eBook" under Content Type.
This is an enormous database that searches across over 500 databases, so depending on your search terms you may get lots of irrelevant search results. To focus more on the disiplines and publications that are likely to serve as strong sources for your assignments, take a look at the specific subject databases below.
Recommended Databases for Background Information, Schoalry Articles, and Journalistic Sources
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Archive of Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Reports on congressional activities, providing historical context and views on issues, information about legislation and more.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books covering a wide variety of subjects.
Oxford Reference Online
Five simultaneous users only.
Reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
Journals and other resources in the sciences, engineering, business, as well as humanities and social sciences areas. Includes newspapers as well as news transcripts. Provided by NOVELNY.
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Proquest News & Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines, and journals, from 1970 to present; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.
Index to publications covering the environment, sustainability, green buildings, energy, recycling and more.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM), and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases, covering scholarly journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and more, on topics such as agriculture, farming, forestry, nutrition, veterinary sciences, and related fields.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Journals on environmental issues and policies, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests. Provided by NOVELNY.
Finding Electronic Access to Articles from Citations
If you have only a citation to an article and can't easily locate full text, use one of these methods to locate where we have access.
- Search the full title of the article in quotes (and possibly the author's last name) in the SUMMON mega database to see where we might have full text.
- Take the name of the publication, and search the Libraries' Journal Locator to find out if and how we subscribe, then navigate to an the article based on the date and volume information in the citation.
If neither connects you to full text, that would be an opportunity to request the material from ILL.