Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About the Curation
In the music world, female composers have often been disregarded or forgotten. To celebrate their artistry and creativity, Bird Library has compiled a list of Musical Theater and Classical works by female composers!
Use Musical Theater Songs to search musical theater repertoire by composer!
Musical Theater Songs Database of information about songs from the musical theater repertoire, searchable by voice range, character age, tempo, accompaniment difficulty, composer/lyricist identity, and more.
The Secret Garden by Titles include: Prelude * Opening * There's a Girl -- I * The House Upon the Hill * There's a Girl -- II * I Heard Someone Crying * I Heard Someone Crying -- Playoff * Martha's Ditty * India Sting #1 * If I Had a Fine White Horse * Medlock Bell #2 * White Horse -- Playoff * A Girl in the Valley * Lily and Rose * It's a Maze * India Sting #2 * Big Dead Snake * Winter's on the Wing * Mary's Maze * Robin Cues * Show Me the Key * Skip, Skipped -- Transition * A Bit of Earth * Storm I * Lily's Eyes * Storm II * India Sting #3 * Round-Shouldered Man * Before Final Storm * Final Storm * Entr'acte * The Girl I Mean to Be * House on the Hill -- Transition * Quartet * There's a Man -- Transition * Race You to the Top of the Morning * Maze Transition * Wick * Race You/Transition * To the Night Garden -- Transition * This Is Nice * Cholera Chords * Come to My Garden and more.
Call Number: M1503.S5789 S4 1993
Publication Date: 1993-11-01
Waitress - Vocal Selections by (Vocal Selections). 14 songs from the Broadway musical featuring songs penned by popular singer/songwriter Sara Bareilles and arranged with vocal line and piano accompaniment. Includes: Bad Idea * Everything Changes * I Didn't Plan It * It Only Takes a Taste * The Negative * Never Ever Getting Rid of Me * Opening Up * She Used to Be Mine * Soft Place to Land * What Baking Can Do * What's Inside * When He Sees Me * You Matter to Me * You Will Still Be Mine.
Call Number: M1508 .B3 W35 2015
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Fun Home Vocal Selections by Contains the following songs: It All Comes Back (Opening) Welcome to Our House on Maple Avenue Come to the Fun Home Changing My Major Maps Raincoat of Love Ring of Keys Days and Days Telephone Wire Edges of the World Flying Away (Finale) Bonus Song: Pony Girl
Call Number: M1508 .F86 2016
Publication Date: 2017-07-21
Thoroughly Modern Millie by (Vocal Selections). The winner of six 2002 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Best Orchestrations and Best Actress (Sutton Foster), Thoroughly Modern Millie takes us back to the jazz and flappers of the Roaring '20s. Based on the 1967 movie of the same name, which starred Julie Andrews, Mary Tyler Moore and Carol Channing, the Broadway show features new songs, 1920s favorites and tunes written for the film all of which are featured in our 14-song piano/vocal highlights folio. Also includes a special section of fantastic color photos from the Broadway production, a plot synopsis, show credits, and bios of composer Jeanine Tesori and lyricist Dick Scanlan.
Call Number: M1508 .T58 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
It Shoulda Been You by (Vocal Selections). Our matching songbook features 14 piano/vocal arrangements from this buzzworthy show about a couple's wedding day escapades: Back in the Day * Beautiful * I Never Wanted This * It Shoulda Been You * Jenny's Blues * A Little Bit Less Than * Love You Till the Day * Nice * Perfect * That's Family * What They Never Tell You * Whatever * Where Did I Go Wrong * Who.
Call Number: M1508.A57 I8 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Bring It on - the Musical by (Vocal Selections). In 2000, the Bring It On hit movie theaters nationwide, presenting a fictitious story focusing on the competitive world of cheerleading and the rivalries it espouses. The stage musical version of the film, featuring music by Tom Kitt and Lin-Manuel Miranda, premiered in Atlanta in 2011, and then ran on Broadway in 2012. Our songbook presents a dozen songs from the musical in vocal line with piano accompaniment arrangments: Cross the Line * Enjoy the Trip * I Got You * It Ain't No Thing * It's All Happening * Killer Instinct * Legendary * One Perfect Moment * Something Isn't Right Here * Tryouts * We Ain't No Cheerleaders * We're Not Done.
Call Number: M1508.K58 B7 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
High Fidelity -- a Musical (Vocal Selections) by Based on the Nick Hornby novel of the same name, the 2006 Broadway musical High Fidelity features a pop/rock-driven score by Tom Kitt (Next to Normal) with lyrics by Amanda Green. Despite the production's short life on Broadway, songs from the show have become favorites among the musical theatre community for auditions and performances. Titles: The Last Real Record Store on Earth * Desert Island Top 5 Break-Ups * It's No Problem * She Goes * Number 5 with a Bullet * Ready to Settle * Nine Percent Chance * I Slept with Someone (Who Slept with Lyle Lovett) * I Slept with Someone (Who Handled Kurt Cobain's Intervention) * Goodbye and Good Luck * Laura, Laura * Turn the World Off (and Turn You On) * Too Tired.
Call Number: M1508.K58 H5 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
The Drowsy Chaperone by (Vocal Selections). Ten songs from the hilarious Broadway musical that won the most 2006 Tonys, plus the New York Critics' Circle and Drama Desk awards for Best Musical. Includes: Accident Waiting to Happen * Bride's Lament * Cold Feets * I Am Aldolpho * I Remember Love * Show Off * Toledo Surprise * and more.
Call Number: M1508.L36 D76 2006
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Legally Blonde by (Vocal Selections). 14 songs from the Broadway musical based on the hit film about sorority girl turned Harvard law student Elle Woods. Includes: Bend and Snap * Find My Way/Finale * Legally Blonde * Omigod You Guys * Take It like a Man * What You Want * and more, in standard piano/vocal format with the melody in the piano part. Also includes guitar chord frames.
Call Number: M1508.O53 L43 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
9 to 5 - the Musical by (Vocal Selections). 9 to 5 The Musical is based on the hit 1980 movie. Featuring music and lyrics by Dolly Parton, the stage production premiered in Los Angeles in September 2008 and opened on Broadway in April 2009. It was nominated for 15 Drama Desk Awards and 4 Tony Awards. Our songbook presents a dozen songs (vocal lines with piano accompaniment), and fantastic full-color photos! Includes the title song and: Around Here * Backwoods Barbie * Change It * 5 to 9 * Get Out and Stay Out * Here for You * I Just Might * Let Love Grow * One of the Boys * Shine like the Sun.
Call Number: M1508.P38 N5 2010
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Color Purple: the Musical by (Vocal Selections). Eight songs from the 2015 Broadway revival of the musical adapted from the novel The Color Purple , presented in vocal lines with piano accompaniment. Includes: Any Little Thing * The Color Purple * I'm Here * Our Prayer * Push Da Button * Somebody Gonna Love You * Too Beautiful for Words * What About Love?
Call Number: M1508.R87 C6 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Mean Girls by (Vocal Selections). This 2018 Broadway adaptation of the hit 2004 movie about the cut-throat social status of a group of teenage girls features lyrics by Nell Benjamin with music by Jeff Richmond and was nominated for several Tony Awards . Our folio includes 16 vocal selections: Apex Predator * A Cautionary Tale * Fearless * I See Stars * I'd Rather Be Me * It Roars * Meet the Plastics * More Is Better * Revenge Party * Sexy * Someone Gets Hurt * Stop * Stupid with Love * What's Wrong with Me? * Where Do You Belong? * World Burn.
Call Number: M1508.R535 M43 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Tale of Two Cities (Vocal Selections) by Based on the classic novel by Charles Dickens and set during the French Revolution, the award-winning Broadway musical A Tale of Two Cities features a rich array of luxuriant melodies by composer Jill Santoriello. The stirring score traverses the emotions of the show's characters, and includes romantic ballads, songs of longing, passion, regret, anger, and cynical humor. Titles: The Way It Ought to Be * You'll Never Be Alone * No Honest Way * Reflection * The Promise * I Can't Recall * Resurrection Man * Now at Last * If Dreams Came True * Out of Sight, Out of Mind * Until Tomorrow * Without a Word * Let Her Be a Child * Finale.
Call Number: M1508.S27 T3 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Caroline, or Change by (Vocal Selections). 14 vocal selections from the Tony Award-winning musical about the civil rights movement in the 1960s in Louisiana. Songs include: The Bus * Epilogue * Gonna Pass Me a Law/Noah, Go to Sleep * I Got Four Kids * I Hate the Bus * I Saw Three Ships * Long Distance * Lot's Wife * Moon Change * Moon Trio * No One Waitin'/'Night Mamma * Noah down the Stairs * Roosevelt Petrucius Coleslaw * Salty Teardrops.
Call Number: M1508.T47 C3 2012
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Shrek the Musical by (Piano/Vocal/Guitar Songbook). Features 18 piano/vocal selections from this Broadway hit that won both Tony and Drama Desk awards. Includes a plot synopsis, four pages of sensational color photos, and these tunes: The Ballad of Farquaad * Big Bright Beautiful World * Build a Wall * Don't Let Me Go * Donkey Pot Pie * Finale (This Is Our Story) * Freak Flag * I Know It's Today * I Think I Got You Beat * Make a Move * More to the Story * Morning Person * Story of My Life * This Is How a Dream Comes True * Travel Song * What's Up, Duloc? * When Words Fail * Who I'd Be.
Call Number: M1508.T47 S57 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Find scores by your favorite women composers from the Renaissance to the 21st century using Classical Scores Library!
Classical Scores Library Scores, including full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions, from the Renaissance to the 21st century.
New Historical Anthology of Music by Women by "In this new edition of Historical Anthology of Music by Women, Briscoe offers an indispensable resource for our own moment. . . . He has commissioned new biographical and critical essays by leading musicologists such as Thomas J. Mathiesen, Elizabeth Aubrey, Suzanne Cusick, Ellen Rosand, and Mark Everist, thus making the most recent interpretations of these women and their music easily available for the classroom." --from the Foreword by Susan McClary New Historical Anthology of Music by Women updates the extremely popular collection with 55 compositions by 46 women composers from the ancient Greeks to the present. Each work is introduced by an informative essay by a specialist in the field, with recommendations for further reading, listening, and performing. Historical scores have been transcribed into modern notation for ease of use, and the works represent a wide variety of genres, including solo songs, chamber music, piano music, and orchestral scores. Composers include Sappho, Hildegard of Bingen, Barbara Strozzi, Clara Schumann, and Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel. The anthology includes a foreword by Susan McClary, the leading scholar on women's music. New Historical Anthology of Music by Women is supplemented by an expanded 3-CD set featuring newly commissioned recordings. Contributors: Elizabeth Aubrey, Laura Barceló-Lastra, Melissa Blakesly, Adrienne Fried Block, Marcia J. Citron, Suzanne Cusick, David Gordon Duke, Susan Erickson, Mark Everist, Jill Munroe Fankhauser, Annegret Fauser, Nancy Fierro, Susan M. Filler, Barbara Garvey Jackson, Bryony Jones, Michael Klaper, Carolyn Lindeman, Roberta Lindsey, Thomas J. Mathiesen, Hidemi Matsushita, Susan McClary, Sharon Mirchandani, Craig B. Parker, Karin Pendle, Barbara A. Petersen, Martin Picker, Janet Pollack, Caroline Potter, Nancy B. Reich, Ellen Rosand, Judith Rosen, and Diane Touliatos-Milesis.
Call Number: M2 .N46 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-11
Women Composers by This work represents a comprehensive historical overview of music created by women from the 9th to the 20th century. Each volume features 10-25 complete musical scores or complete movements from multi-movement compositions, many of which have been previously difficult to access. Expert scholars provide original essays about the composers, including biographical information, a discussion of the music in historical content, and critical analysis of each work. Entries also include a bibliography, a list of works by the composer and a discography. This first volume about composers born before 1600, covers music by women of the convent, women of nobility, and the trobaritz (women troubadors). The music is predominantly sacred, vocal and a capella.
Call Number: M2 .W88 1996
Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Anthology of Latin American and Iberian Art Songs by Women Composers by An Anthology of Latin American and Iberian art songs by Women composers including 23 songs in Spanish, Catalan, and Portuguese by five composers from Argentina, Brazil, Catalunya, Cuba, and Colombia. The book includes a bilingual introductory study presenting the composers and poets, poetry translations, and sheet music.
Call Number: M1619 .L38 2020
Publication Date: 2020-04-26
Women Composers - A Heritage of Song by (Vocal Collection). With 45 songs by 22 composers, this is the most comprehensive single volume of art songs composed by women ever published. It includes biographical information about the composers and historical information about each song, with songs in English, French, German and Italian. Contents: AMALIA: Auf dem Land und in der Stadt * BEACH: Three Browning Songs * LILI BOULANGER: Reflets * NADIA BOULANGER: Le Couteau * CACCINI: Per la piu vaga e bella * CHAMINADE: Ecrin * Mignonne * Mots d'amour * COLBRAN: Povero cor tu palpiti * La speranza al cor mi dice * FANNY MENDELSSOHN: Fruhling * Morgenstandchen * Nachtwanderer * Suleika * Warum sind denn du Rosen so blass * HOLMES: A Trianon * HOWE: Velvet Shoes * LANG: Den Abschied schnell genommen * Ob ich manchmal Dein gedenke * LEHMANN: There are fairies at the bottom of our garden * ALMA MAHLER: Bei dir ist es traut * Ich wandle unter Blumen * Laue Sommernacht * Die stille Stadt * MALIBRAN: Les Brigands * La Voix qui dit: Je t'aime * POLDOWSKI: Colombine * L'heure exquise * REICHARDT: Se non piange un infelice * Unruhiger Schlaf * SCHROTER: An den Abendstern * CLARA SCHUMANN: Er ist gekommen in Sturm und Regen * Ihr Bildnis * Liebst du um Schonheit * Lorelei * Mein Stern * STROZZI: Spesso per entro al petto * VIARDOT: Die Beschworung * Les Filles de Cadix * Fleur dessechee * VIEU: La Belle au Bois dormant * VON ARNIM: Aus Faust * Ein Stern der Lieb' am Himmelslauf
Call Number: M1619 .W872 2004
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Cambridge Companion to Women in Music Since 1900 by This Companion explores women's work in music since 1900 across a broad range of musical genres and professions, including the classical tradition, popular music, and music technology. The crucial contribution of women to music education and the music industries features alongside their activity as composers and performers. The book considers the gendered nature of the musical profession, in areas including access to training, gendered criticism, sexualization, and notions of 'gender appropriate' roles or instruments. It covers a wide range of women musicians, such as Marin Alsop, Grace Williams, Billie Holiday, Joni Mitchell and Adele. Each thematic section concludes with a contribution from a practitioner in her own words, reflecting upon the impact of gender on her own career. Chapters include suggestions for further reading on each of the topics covered, providing an invaluable resource for students of Feminist Musicology, Women in Music, and Music and Gender.
Call Number: ML82 .C36 2021
Publication Date: 2021-05-06
Want to do research on contemporary women in the music field? Try using this book! This source discusses the wide-spread media discussions about women's roles in society and culture, and how they have changed throughout the twentieth century. It also includes not only the role of women in the world of composing, but also in music business, conducting, education, and technology!
Arts Related Databases
Want to watch a full performance without paying fees? Try using these databases!
ArtFilms Digital Films, documentaries, masterclasses, and interviews for arts education and practitioners.
Digital Theatre Plus If using Chrome, please download the latest version to ensure video playback. Streaming video collection of theatre, dance, musical theatre, opera, and film productions in many genres, as well as interviews and notes by practitioners about production, technique, lighting, design and more; includes content from provider such as the, BBC, Broadway HD, LA Theatre Works, and Royal Shakespeare Company.
Drama Online Playtexts, audio plays, video productions, photos, and ebooks related to practice and criticism, including works from Arden Shakespeare, Nick Hern Books, TCG Books, Royal Shakespeare Company, National Theatre, Shakespeare’s Globe, BBC, L.A. Theater Works, and more.
Medici.tv Streaming video of performances and documentaries, including concerts, operas, ballets, and master classes by numerous performers, composers, and companies.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access HD videos of Metropolitan Opera performances, including telecasts from 1970 through 2000, and including radio broadcasts from 1936.