Skip to Main Content
Syracuse University Libraries

Whitman Online Student Research Guide

A Guide to Research Resources for Whitman School of Management Online Students

Overview of Videos

These videos will introduce you to a few of Syracuse University Libraries' general and business research resources. In the first video, online learning librarian John Stawarz demonstrates how to navigate the Libraries' website and locate general SU Libraries' resources. For direct links to key resources highlighted in the video, go to Libraries Search Overview and Recommended Starting Points.

In the three-part Business Research Resources video series, librarian for business, management, and entrepreneurship Steph McReynolds provides an introduction to relevant business research resources. For direct links to the databases highlighted in the Business Research Resources video series, go to Recommended Business Databases.

Each video has been subdivided into shorter chapters so you may view the video in its entirety or just the chapter you are interested in. To reach the video chapters, use the chapter navigation feature (three lines, aka a "hamburger" menu icon) in the upper left corner of the video player. Click on the menu icon to view the chapters. After navigating to a chapter, click on the menu icon again to hide it so you may more easily view the video.

Introduction to SU Libraries' General Resources

In this Introduction to SU Libraries' General Resources video, Online Learning Librarian John Stawarz shares strategies for finding resources on the library website, searching with Libraries Search, exploring databases, using interlibrary loan, accessing Harvard Business review publications, and finding additional library support.  
 
Video Chapters:

  1. Library Support for Online Students: Intro to SU Libraries and our support for online students (1 minute, 24 seconds)
  2. Searching with Libraries Search: Strategies for finding resources using the Libraries Search (2 minutes, 11 seconds)
  3. Requesting Books & Physical Items: Have physical items from SU Libraries shipped to you at no cost (40 seconds)
  4. Harvard Business Review: Access articles from publications such as HBR (1 minute, 33 seconds)
  5. Databases: Explore business information resources in our databases (1 minute, 55 seconds)
  6. Research Guides: Library guides offering additional research support (1 minute)
  7. Interlibrary Loan: Request articles, book chapters, and other resources from partner libraries (1 minute, 10 seconds) 
  8. Getting Help: Several ways to reach out for assistance, including our 24/7 online chat service (1 minute, 9 seconds) 

To reach the video chapters, use the chapter navigation feature (three lines, aka a "hamburger" menu icon) in the upper left corner of the video player. Click on the menu icon to view the chapters. After navigating to a chapter, click on the menu icon again to hide it so you may more easily view the video.

Business Research Resources: Part 1

In this first video of the three-part Business Research Resources video series, Steph McReynolds provides an overview of resources to be covered in the three videos and then shows how to Get Help from SU Libraries, how to find Databases, an overview of the Business Information Guide, and sample searches in Business Insights.
 
Video Chapters:
  1. Intro to Business Research Resources: Intro to Business Librarian and overview of content in Business Research Resources videos (3 minutes, 21 seconds)
  2. Get Help, Business Guide, and HBR: Get Help, Databases, Business Information Guide, Case Studies, and HBR (5 minutes, 45 seconds)
  3. Business Insights:Company database with company profiles, SWOT, industry and market reports, and more (10 minutes, 57 seconds)

To reach the video chapters, use the chapter navigation feature (three lines, aka a "hamburger" menu icon) in the upper left corner of the video player. Click on the menu icon to view the chapters. After navigating to a chapter, click on the menu icon again to hide it so you may more easily view the video.

Business Research Resources: Part Two

In this second video, Steph McReynolds shows how to identify NAICS codes, followed by sample searches in IBISWorld, BizMiner, Statista, Mergent Intellect, and Business Source Elite.
 
Video Chapters:
  1. Identifying NAICS Codes: How to identify industry codes using the North American Industry Classification System (5 minutes)
  2. IBISWorld: Industry report database includes SWOT in the industry, market share, key ratios, and more (4 minutes, 11 seconds)
  3. BizMiner: Industry financial ratios and industry market ratios (5 minutes, 23 seconds)
  4. Statista: Statistics, market research, industry research, and more (5 minutes, 41 seconds)
  5. Mergent Intellect: Company database with lists by NAICS code, industry reports, ratios, and more (6 minutes, 54 seconds)
  6. Business Source Elite: Business article database (3 minutes, 21 seconds)

To reach the video chapters, use the chapter navigation feature (three lines, aka a "hamburger" menu icon) in the upper left corner of the video player. Click on the menu icon to view the chapters. After navigating to a chapter, click on the menu icon again to hide it so you may more easily view the video.

Business Research Resources: Part 3

In this third and final video of the three-part Business Research Resources video series, Steph McReynolds shows sample searches in Mintel and Westlaw Campus Research, followed by a reminder of how to get help from SU Libraries.
 

Video Chapters:

  1. Mintel: Market research databases that focuses on consumers and includes consumer survey data (3 minutes, 32 seconds)
  2. Westlaw Campus Research: Legal database includes company profiles and legal cases (6 minutes, 19 seconds)
  3. Reminder of How to Get Help: Conclusion and reminder of how to get help from SU Libraries (1 minute, 45 seconds)

To reach the video chapters, use the chapter navigation feature (three lines, aka a "hamburger" menu icon) in the upper left corner of the video player. Click on the menu icon to view the chapters. After navigating to a chapter, click on the menu icon again to hide it so you may more easily view the video.