Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

SEM 100: Welcome!

This LibGuide is designed to support new students to SU.

SU Libraries + SEM 100

Welcome to Syracuse University and to SEM 100! Syracuse University Libraries offer a wide variety of resources and services that can support you throughout your time here at Syracuse University. This guide will provide information on the Syracuse University Libraries, information on the services Syracuse University offers, and resources on topics that will be covered in the course.

 

The sections of this guide provides links to a number of resources, including:

1. Welcome to SU!    2. Cultural Competence and Humility    3. Intersectionality    4. Privilege   5Oppressions & Microaggressions    6. Anti-Racism    7. Support Resources for BIPOC

 

In an effort at full disclosure, it should be noted that the collaborators on this guide occupy some of the oppressed identities outlined here, but not all of them. We have attempted to bring together quality, relevant resources for the anti-oppression issues in this guide, but we are not immune from the limits and hidden biases of our own privileges and perspectives as allies. We welcome and greatly appreciate any feedback and suggestions for the guide.

Acknowledgment

Syracuse University Libraries would like to acknowledge with respect the Onondaga Nation, firekeepers of the Haudenosaunee, the indigenous peoples on whose ancestral lands Syracuse University now stands.

Syracuse University Libraries Statement

"The Libraries must serve as welcoming havens of safety, respect, openness, and accessibility to all members of our University community. Our doors are open to all who wish to pursue their creativity, research, and learning, no matter their skin color, ethnicity, nationality, religion, gender identity, or disability."

David Seaman, Ph.D, Dean of Libraries and University Librarian, Syracuse University Libraries (see full statement)

Need Help? Ask SU Libraries!

SU Libraries @ Social Media

For up-to-date news about library resources, events, and services, please follow Syracuse University Libraries on social media:

Welcome to Syracuse University Libraries!

Getting Started at SU Libraries

Wondering where to start your research at SU Libraries? Confused by all of the resources and services that we offer? You're not alone! After all, SU Libraries offers more than a billion resources, and it can feel completely overwhelming to try and figure out which resources best fit your information needs. If you have any questions about the services and resources that SU Libraries offer, please reach out to us using any of the methods listed in the "Need Help?" box on the left side of this guide. 


Summon & (Summon Advanced Search)
A search engine for most of the Syracuse University Libraries’ collections and other resources beyond the SU Libraries. Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more. Use for searching for articles. Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.

Course Reserves
Concerned about the cost of textbooks? Check to see if any of your textbooks are available for short-term borrowing at SU Libraries, 

Journal Locator
A list of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Search or browse by title, ISSN, or subject category.

Databases A-Z
A list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes databases containing articles, images, data, and videos. Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Research Guides 
Discover research tools, explore the research process, and locate helpful resources for a wide variety of academic topics and specific courses. Click on the "By Type" tab to see additional options. Created by your friendly librarians at Syracuse University.

Subject Librarians
Looking for specialized resources for your class or major? Each academic department has a subject librarian who specializes in supporting students and researchers in that subject. 

Research Strategies and Approaches
Wondering how to approach the research process or evaluate sources? Curious how to craft a thesis statement? Need help with citation styles such as APA and MLA? Then these videos and tutorials will help you develop strategies and approaches throughout the research process. Off-campus viewers will be prompted for NetID and password. 

Additional Library Resources

Working from Off Campus

Connect to our online resources, and reach out to our remote access help if you ever need.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find a book, article, or other resource that you need for your research? Submit an interlibrary loan request, and we'll try to track down the item at a partner library.

Learn @ SU Libraries Workshop Series

Register to attend one of the free online workshops that SU Libraries staff members are offering to support you and your research. Topics including citation management, research basics, and more.

Research Process Videos & Tutorials

If you enjoyed many of the videos and tutorials that we shared with you in this guide, please check out more than a hundred other similar Credo Information Literacy resources that can help you throughout the research process.