Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University MLK Celebration 2021 Programming
For its 2021 celebration of the the birthday of the Rev. Dr. Luther King, Jr., Syracuse University will host a virtual keynote address by Ruby Bridges.
In 1960, Bridges became the first African American student to attend an all-white elementary school in the South, and she has continued to fight for equity and civil rights throughout the course of her extraordinary life.
Ms. Bridges' keynote address will take place on Sunday, January 31, 2021, at 7:00pm Eastern Standard Time. Registration is free and open to all.
Please visit Syracuse University's website for its Annual Celebration of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., for more information about Ruby Bridges and other events that are part of this year's celebration.
Please visit the website of the Ruby Bridges Foundation for more information about and from Ms. Bridges and her extraordinary life and career.
Ruby Bridges on Film
Call Number: Streaming Video
Publication Date: 1998
Ruby Bridges in Books
The Story of Ruby Bridges by A re-creation of the trauma faced by a young African American girl who is the first to integrate an all-white school in New Orleans in 1960.
Call Number: Special Collections: F379.N59 N33 1995 f
Publication Date: 1995-02-01
Through My Eyes by In November 1960, all of America watched as a tiny six-year-old black girl, surrounded by federal marshals, walked through a mob of screaming segregationists and into her school. An icon of the civil rights movement, Ruby Bridges chronicles each dramatic step of this pivotal event in history through her own words.
Call Number: M.L. King Library, Sims Hall: F379.N59 N435 1999
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Other relevant SU Libraries Research Guides
Ruby Bridges in the News
The Problem We All Live With, a painting by Norman Rockwell based on Ruby Bridges' experience as the first African American student to attend an all-white school in the South.
Atlanta Journal Constitution
Profile and interview. (December 9, 2020)
Story on the 60th anniversary of her first day at William Franz Elementary School. (November 14, 2020)
Interview. (November 7, 2020)
Interview. (January 14, 2021)
Today on NBC
Story about artwork blending Kamala Harris into Norman Rockwell's painting of Ruby Bridges. (November 8, 2020)
Profile and Interview. (August 12, 2020)
Syracuse University Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial Library
Syracuse University Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Library
The Martin Luther King Jr. (MLK) Library was established in 1971 as an extension of the Department of African American Studies (AAS). It was developed by students, faculty and administrators to reflect AAS curriculum while illuminating the culture and life of Black people often excluded or limited in treatment within tradition academic libraries including Syracuse University.
Syracuse University Libraries Databases to articles, books, newspapers, other sources
African American Communities
Pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports, and in-depth oral histories covering the experiences of African Americans. Focuses on themes of racism, discrimination and integration, and African American culture and identity.
African American Newspapers Series I & II
African American newspapers published in the United States between 1827 and 1998.
America: History & Life with Full-text
Articles, books and more covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada
Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, articles, historical newspaper articles, related to Black Studies, from fields such as literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Chicago Defender Archive
Searchable full page images of this influential African American newspaper, covering years 1905-1975.
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Proquest News & Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Race Relations Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Race Relations in America
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, from 1943-1970, this resource showcases speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses that investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.