Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available as an online edition, it comprises 26 volumes, over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Help With Citing?
Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "RefWorks" or "Zotero," visit the SU Libraries Citation Support website.
Watch for the SULinks icon
If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.
Databases: Best Bets
Looking for a few excellent starting points when researching in public administration? Try these databases and additional websites (be sure to visit this guide's More PA Databases page, and buttons on this guide's menu bar, for additional options):
Index published by the American Economic Association of articles, chapters, and dissertations related to all fields of economics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Moody's/Mergent Corporate and Municipal Manuals, D&B Key Business Ratios, and the Mergent Historical SEC Collection.
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
SAGE Journals Online
Journals published by Sage in numerous disciplines, including health, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Journals covering humanities, behavioral sciences, business, economics, education, engineering, the environment, language, literature, physical sciences, politics/international relations, social sciences, and more.
U.S. Federal Government Publications & Social Media
Find a Specific Electronic Journal
Do you already know a specific journal title(s) you are looking for--and wish to browse that title or see which database(s) indexes it? If so, look up that journal title(s) using the library's journal locator.
Social Science Librarian
Subjects: African American Studies
, African Studies
, Anthropology and Archaeology
, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility
, East Asian Studies
, European Studies
, Latin American Studies
, Middle Eastern Studies
, Native American and Indigenous Studies
, Political Science
, South Asian Studies
, Women's and Gender Studies