Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

PRL 206 - Public Relations Principles and Concepts (Fall 2021)

Research starting points from SU Libraries for PRL 206 students

Researching Companies (and other organizations)

For additional excellent research starting point advice about companies and other non-profit organizations, consider this link to the business librarian's recommendations for conducting company research  (some recommendations here are also suggested within the box below entitled market & industry research)

Keep in mind your research starting point may vary if you are gathering background information for an organization that is not a for profit company.  Starting points also may vary if a company being explored is a small business

Almost all researchers can find coverage of an organization within one or more SU Libraries News & Newspaper databases, or also using Summon

Leading news databases with a focus on national and international coverage include
Nexis Uni
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Access World News
*Access World News also has excellent coverage for Syracuse and many local and regional U.S. news sources
PressReader

Those students with a focus local to the city of Syracuse region, can consider
Syracuse News Sources
*is a subpart of Access World News database, covering the mid 1980s and forward

Those students looking for other local news sources specific to NY State, can consider one or both of these news databases
NewspaperArchive.com
New York State Newspapers (Gale)
NewspaperArchive contains Syracuse and other NY State newspaper sources, including pre-1980s, some titles reach back into the 18th Century

Richard K. Miller & Associates Market Research Reports

In addition to powerful market research databases like Mintel and MarketResearch.com Academic, SU Libraries also makes available various electronic book titles from publisher Richard K. Miller & Associates. These offer extensive market research reports on subjects that include:

  • Entertainment, Media and Advertising
  • Consumer Behavior
  • International Consumer Markets
  • Health Care Business Market
  • Leisure Market Research
  • Restaurant Food & Beverage Market
  • Sports Marketing
  • Travel & Tourism Market Research

  Market/Industry Research - Additional Core Databases

Those researching the overall landscape of an industry or industry sector, may benefit from review of one or more these various business oriented resources and publications. The focus of these databases is NOT limited to public relations, but rather is on learning more about specific industries and markets within which a PR professional might be active: