Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Ph.D. in Information Science and Technology Resources: Home

Suggest a Resource

Please feel free to suggest a resource for the Libraries' collections.  We welcome your suggestions and feedback.

Interlibrary Loan

For resources not in Syracuse University Libraries' collection, here's a link to Interlibrary Loan (ILL). We may be able to borrow a resource from another library.

Search Strategies

Databases typically include a help page with search strategies.  Examples include:

​*ProQuest and EBSCO guides/tutorials about Boolean operators: 

*EBSCO’s “Using Wildcards and Truncation” page

Some databases have thesaurus or subject heading features for identifying additional, related, broader, narrower terms, or terms that match the current terminology in the database that reflects the research literature concepts/phrases.  Examples of this include:

MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) Browser--2018 

ERIC Thesaurus

 

Using the Constructing a Search worksheet below may be helpful to map concepts and potential searches prior to starting the search in a database.

Featured Databases

Additional specialized resources in many subject areas are available on the SU Libraries' databases page.  Resources are also listed on subject guides

Information About Journals

These resources provide a wide variety of information about journals - publisher, description of content, metrics, etc.:

SUMMON / Classic Catalog

Librarian for the iSchool: Brenna

Brenna Helmstutler's picture
Brenna Helmstutler
Contact:
Hi! I am available for library-related research questions and scheduling of virtual meetings via email. My general work hours are Mondays-Fridays, 8:00-3:30 Eastern.
Social Media: Twitter Page

Use the Journal Locator

The journal locator is a list of print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries.