ENG 730: King Lear (Spring 2023): Home

The links on this webpage are meant to help you to identify sources for your work in Professor Callaghan's ENG 730 course; depending on your topic, you may want to explore other directions among the library collections. You can contact Patrick Williams (jpwill03@syr.edu) if you have any questions about doing so or to get recommendations based on your interests.

New Oxford Shakespeare: Modern Critical Edition

King Lear, Quarto 1 (1608)

King Lear, Folio 1 (1623)

R.A. Foakes's Arden Third Edition

The Libraries' Workshop series offers short instructional sessions on a variety of topics, including:

Saving and Citing Your Sources: An Introduction to Zotero
    2/24, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
    3/2, 12:00 PM - 1:00PM

Advanced Zotero: How to Virtually Share and Comment on Sources for Teaching, Learning, Research, and Collaboration
    3/17, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

SUMMON
The Libraries' broad full-text searching tool. Includes books (print and ebooks), articles, databases, journal subscriptions, and more. In SUMMON, select "Full Text Online" and "Book/eBook" to locate ebooks only. Also very useful for locating full text of items you discover in the World Shakespeare Bibliography (link below) and elsewhere.

You can also use the Classic Catalog for title level searching using bibliographic information (title, author, subject, etc.) only.

Other citation, text, and multimedia databases for more targeted exploration

• M. William Shak-speare: his true chronicle historie of the life and death of King Lear and his three daughters With the vnfortunate life of Edgar, sonne and heire to the Earle of Gloster, and his sullen and assumed humor of Tom of Bedlam: as it was played before the Kings Maiestie at Whitehall vpon S. Stephans night in Christmas hollidayes. By his Maiesties seruants playing vsually at the Gloabe on the Bancke-side. [1608; Quarto]
• M. VVilliam Shake-speare, his true chronicle history of the life and death of King Lear, and his three daughters With the vnfortunate life of Edgar, sonne and heire to the Earle of Glocester, and his sullen and assumed humour of Tom of Bedlam. As it was plaid before the Kings Maiesty at White-Hall, vpon S. Stephens night [1619; Quarto]
• Mr. VVilliam Shakespeares comedies, histories, & tragedies Published according to the true originall copies. [1623; Folio]
• M. William Shake-speare, his true chronicle history of the life and death of King Lear and his three daughters with the unfortunat life of Edgar, sonne and heire to the Earle of Glocester and his sullen, assumed humour of Tom of Bedlam : as it was plaid before the Kings Maiesty at Whit-Hall upon S. Stephans night in Christmas hollldaies [sic] by His Maiesties servants playing vsually at the Globe on the Bank-side. [1655; Quarto]

Dir. Richard Eyre (1998); Cast: Ian Holm, Paul Rhys, Finbar Lynch, Timothy West, David Burke, Barbara Flynn. [BBC]

Dir. Gregory Doran (2016); Cast: Antony Sher, Oliver Johnstone, Nia Gwynne, Natalie Simpson. [RSC]

Dir. Nancy Meckler (2017); Cast: Kevin R McNally, Emily Bruni, Louisa Beadel, Burt Caesar, Ralph Davis, Joshua James.[Globe on Screen]

Dir. Joan Tosoni (2015); Cast: Colm Feore, Maev Beaty, Evan Buliung, Sara Farb, Jonathan Goad, Brad Hodder. [Stratford]

Dir. Michael Grandage (2011); Cast: Derek Jacobi, Gina McKee, Paul Jesson, Michael Hadley, Justine Mitchell, Pippa Bennett-Warner. [National Theatre]

Dirs. Joseph Papp, Edwin Sherin (1974); Cast: James Earl Jones, Rául Juliá, Paul Sorvino, René Auberjonois, Rosalind Cash, Lee Chamberlain. [NY Shakespeare Festival]

Dir. Yury Butusov (2018); Cast: Konstantin Raikin, Denis Sukhanov,  Daniil Pugayev, Anton Kuznecov, Timofey Tribuntcev, Marina Drovosekova, Agrippina Steklova. [Stage Russia]

Dir. Peter Brook (1971);  Cast: Paul Scofield, Irene Worth, Jack MacGowran, Alan Webb, Cyril Cusack.

Dir. Allen Cooke (1982);  Cast: Mike Kellen, David Groh, Kitty Winn, Darryl Hickman and Charles Hickman.