Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

IST 700: Selected Topic (Deep Learning/NLP/Comp Soc)-Fall 2020: Course Resources

Newspapers

Articles/Conference Proceedings/Reports

SU Databases

More databases available in the Data Sciences Guide link above.

Open Access Sites with Articles, Conference Proceedings

Search Strategies

Using the Constructing a Search worksheet below may be helpful to map concepts and potential searches prior to starting the search in a database.

Boolean Operators

AND: combines terms; fewer and more focused results

OR: either term is present, but not necessarily both; broadens search

NOT: excludes some terms; use with care

Additional Search Strategies

Truncation: search multiple word variants in one search

Wildcard: search multiple spelling variants in one search

Phrase searching: enclose in quotes to search all words as a phrase instead of separately

Help pages of databases include effective searches, unique features.

Additional information on conducting research is available in the Research Process Guide link above.

Google Scholar Linking to SU Articles

Google scholar link:  scholar.google.com

Google Scholar will link to our full text online articles even off-campus if you set up your Syracuse University affiliation in Google Scholar Settings.  Follow the steps below.

NOTE:  Setting up Google Scholar to link to our library holdings must be done when you are off-campus.

  1. Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)
  2. Click on More options icon in google scholarin the upper left corner, then select Settings or Settings icon in google scholar
  3. Click on Library Links in the left column.
  4. Type Syracuse University in the Library Links search box.
  5. Select Syracuse University, Syracuse University Libraries – Gale Full Text, and Open WorldCat.
  6. Click Save.
  7. Full text links will be found in the right column of a search results page.  When no full-text link is given try clicking on the title and sometimes the full-text will be available.

Numeric Data/Statistical Databases

Numerous sources of data are listed on SU Libraries'  Numeric Data Services guide and on the Statistics and Data databases list.    

Librarian for the iSchool: Brenna

Brenna Helmstutler's picture
Brenna Helmstutler
Contact:
Hi! I am available for library-related research questions and scheduling of virtual meetings via email. My general work hours are Mondays-Fridays, 8:00-3:30 Eastern.
Social Media: Twitter Page

Additional Libraries Contact Options

You can also contact the SU Libraries in a variety of ways, including in person at our service desks or via:

SMS (Text) icon Text: 315-464-0744

Instant Message (IM) icon Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone icon Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail icon E-mail: libref@syr.edu